STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA	)	Horry County Board of Architectural Review
	)	and Historical Preservation
COUNTY OF HORRY	)	<b>April 18, 2017</b>

The Horry County Board of Architectural Review met on Tuesday, April 18, 2017, in Multi-Purpose Room B of the Horry County Government and Justice Center at 1301 2<sup>nd</sup> Avenue in Conway, SC. The following Board members were present: Jody Nyers, Bill Strydesky, Becky Billingsley, Joel Carter, Chris Clark, Christy Douglas, Sam Dusenbury, David Stoudenmire Jr., and Jamie Thompkins. Staff present: Mary Catherine Hyman and Susi Miller. Board member not present: Katie Clary.

In accordance with the SCFOIA, notices of the public meeting were sent to the press (and other interested persons and organizations requesting notification) providing the agenda, date, time, and place of the meeting. In accordance to the Horry County Ordinance a minimum of a twenty-one day notice was given.

- **I.** Call to Order Chairman, Jody Nyers called the meeting to order at approximately 2:29 PM.
- II. Invocation & Pledge of Allegiance Jamie Thompkins
- **III. Approval of Minutes** March 21, 2017 Bill Strydesky made a motion to approve the minutes, Jamie Thompkins seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

## **IV. New Business**

A. New Members – Mary Catherine Hyman introduced the new board members: Becky Billingsley, David Stoudenmire Jr., and Jamie Thompkins. Each board member introduced themselves and gave some background.

## V. Old Business

- A. BAR Website. Mary Catherine Hyman gave an overview. This is still a work in progress and she will notify the board members when it is complete.
- B. Historic Preservation Awards. Mary Catherine Hyman gave an overview. The Board of Architectural Review will be hosting the Historic Preservation Awards Ceremony on May 16, 2017 at 2:30 pm at the McCown Auditorium beside the Horry County Museum, 805 Main Street, Conway SC. Previously, the board has chosen O'Neal Smalls from Freewoods Farms, Surfside Beach Historical Society, Tommy Simpson, Hillary Howard, and Graham Brothers Farm Supply as 2017 award recipients. The board members discussed adding the Goldfinch Home and the Hyman Home to the list. Jamie Thompkins made a motion to add both homes and Chris Clark seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Ceremony. Mary Catherine Hyman gave an overview of the upcoming ceremony. The

presenters are: Jody Nyers - Welcome

Sam Dusenbury - Invocation Jamie Thompkins - O'Neal Smalls

Joel Carter - Surfside Beach Historical Society

Jody Nyers - Hillary Howard

Bill Strydesky - Tommy Simpson
David Stoudenmire - Graham Brothers Farm Supply
Chris Clark - The Goldfinch Home
Becky Billingsley - The Hyman Home
Susan Perhala - Historic Register
Christy Douglas - Video Contest
Jody Nyers - Legacy Business Recognition Program
Mary Catherine Hyman – Agritourism and Closing

Refreshments will follow in the lobby.

C. Legacy Business Recognition Program. Mary Catherine Hyman gave an overview for the new members, explaining that this is a quarterly event and always open to suggestions. For the upcoming event the board will possibly be looking into locations in the Surfside/Murrells Inlet area or Aynor/Gallivants Ferry.

## VI. Board Discussion

Mary Catherine Hyman gave an overview of the Patriot Tree Project. Board members requested a map of the existing trees on the project and then going forward with assessing those to determine which of the existing ones need to be replaced.

- VII. Next Meeting Historic Preservation Awards Ceremony, May 16<sup>th</sup>, 2017, 2:30 PM at the McCown Auditorium beside the Horry County Museum, 805 Main Street, Conway SC.
- **VIII. Adjourn** Bill Strydesky made a motion to adjourn and Jamie Thompkins seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 3:41 PM.