INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
SELF-REPRESENTED LITIGANT REQUEST FOR
| VISITATION PACKET

PLAINTIEF

The Plaintiff is the parent who wants visitation and files the case with the Court. The Defendant
is the other parent or person with custody of the child or children, also called the custodial party.
The instructions in this packet are for the Plaintiff.

WARNING: You are strongly encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney before filing
any legal matter. This packet is designed to provide information and forms to people who are
representing themselves in court. If you proceed without an attorney, it may negatively affect
your legal rights. If you are unsure whether to proceed, or have questions about these forms or
vour legal rights, please consult an attorney. Please note that clerks of court, court staff, and
judges may give you information about the court and its procedures but cannot give you legal
advice.

DISCLAIMER: The information in this packet is not legal advice and cannot replace the advice
of competent legal counsel licensed in your state, Visitation laws vary from state to state and the
informetion contained in this packet is specific to South Carolina. Please note that the
information contained in this packet is subject to change. Before filing, make sure that you have
the most current version at www.sccourts.org.

The information in this packet is intended for use by parents seeking visitation and is not
intended for use by grandparents or other relatives seeking visitation. It is recommended
that a grandparent or other relative seek advice from an attorney tfo seek visitation.

The following instructions will help you file for visitation in South Carolina without an attorney.
This is called pro se or self-represented litigant (SRL,). While the self-represented litigant may
not incur the atforney expense, someone acting without an attorney does not have the expert
guidance that an attorney can provide. The other party may choose to hire an attorney. If your
visitation request is denied, you conld be required to pay the other party's attorney's fees and
costs.

If you do not know an attorney who can assist you, vou may call the South Carolina Bar's
Lawyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a Family Law attorney in your county.
Members of the South Carolina Bar's Lawyer Referral Service have been in practice for more
than 3 years, are in good standing, have provided proof of malpractice insurance, and have
agreed to provide a 30 minute consultation for no more than $50. If you cannot afford an
attorney, you may contact South Carolina Legal Services (SCLS) through the Legal Aid
Telephone Intake Service at 1-888-346-5392. Please note that to qnalify for a legal aid attorney
through SCLS, your income must not be more than 125% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines.
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PART 1: BEFORE YOU FILE

You are strongly encouraged to speak with an attorney if
your name is on a child abuse registry, sex offender
registry, or if there is currently a restraining order or
bench warrant out against you.

Does your child(ren) currently live in South Carolina?

The information in this packet only applies to those seeking visitation with child(ren) who live in
South Carolina. Generally, the child(ren) must have lived in South Carolina for the past six
months. If your child(ren) is in South Carolina, you must file for visitation in the county where
the child(ren) lives.

Is there already a court order for visitation?

The forms in this packet are for someone who is asking the court to establish visitation. They are
not the right forms if you already have a court order and want to change the visitation schedule.

If'you already have a court order and the custodial party is not following the visitation schednle
or not allowing you to visit the child(ren), you may want to contact an attorney or the Clerk of
Court in the county where your order is for more information.

If you are the father and have questions abouf paternity, see the Frequenﬂy Asked
Questions for Paternity on the Self-Help Resources page.

Filing these papers and having a hearing does not mean
yvou will get visitation. The Judge will decide. The
custodial party may ask for child support even if the
Judge denies your request for visitation.

PART 2: COMPLETING YOUR PAPERWORK
The fo]lowing forms are included in this packet:

Step 1 — FE]NG

Family Court Coversheet (SCCA. 467)

Summons (SCCA 401F)

Complaint — Visitation (SCCA. 400.41 SRL-VIS)

Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Paupem (SCCA 405F)
Financial Declaration (SCCA 430)

.U‘:P‘.“’E‘J!"‘

SCCA400.4PSRL-VIS 20fi4



Step 2 - SERVICE
6. Service of Process Forms
a. Acceptance of Service (SCCA 400.42 SRL-VIS)
b. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (SCCA 400.43 SRL-VIS)
c. Affidavit of Service (SCCA 402F)

Step 3 - REQUEST FOR HEARING
: 7. Request for Hearing (Visitation) (SCCA 400.44 SRL-VIS)
8. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing) (SCCA 400.45 SRL-VIS)

Step 4 —- HEARING
9. Script for Plaintiff's Testimony Hearing (Visitation) (SCCA 400.46 SRL-VIS)
10, Order — Visitation (SCCA 400.47 SRL-VIS)

Some of the mformation on each form will be the same, such as your name and address, but each
form has a different purpose and requires different information. Some of your documents will
have to be notarized, This means that a notary ust watch you sign the documents and provide
the notary's seal. You will need to bring picture identification. You can find 2 notary at a bank,
funeral home, post office, or courthonse. The notary may charge no more than $5 per form (cash
only). Below is an image of a notary block. If you see this on a form, it mnst be notarized.

SWORN 1o beforeime this

dzeot,

oty Pablic for Ssath Cardiing

My Co jun Expires:

1t is important that you make copies of all paperwork. Keep the copies of the paperwork in a
safe place and bring your copy to court with yor. If any necessary information is missing, you
risk your case being dismissed or delayed. If your case is dismissed, you may have to begin
again by filing your information with the Clerk of Court a second time and paying the filing fee
of $150.00 again.

STEP 1 -FILING

You will start with the first five forms:

1) Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467)

2) Summons (SCCA 401F)

3) Complaint — Visitation (SCCA40.41 SRL-VIS)

4) Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (SCCA 405F) (if applicable)
5) Financial Declaration (SCCA 430) '
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Fill in the name of the county where you are filing the case in the upper left hand comer of each
of these documents. This is the county where your child(ren) ives. Then print your name in the
space labeled Plaintiff. Next, print the name of the child(ren)'s other parent or the custodial party
1 the blank above the word Defendant. This section of all legal forms is called the caption.

This caption should be completed on all forms filed with the court.

SEE THE CHART STARTING ON PAGES 12-13 TO FIND YOUR JUDICIAL

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DN THE FAMILY COURT
COUNTY OF JODICIAL CIRCUIT

Family Court Coversheet

On the Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467), print your contact information in the spaces below
the caption. Print your full name, address, email address (if you have an email address), and a
relizble phone number.

If the county where you are filing is a mandatory mediation county, check the first box under
DOCEETING INFORMATION. A list of these counties is at the top of the second page of the
Family Court Coversheet. If yon are filing in one of these counties, yon are required to
participate in mediation. There may be a fee for mediation.

A family mediator is a person who helps both parents reach an agreement about visitation. This
process often helps the case move more quickly. Also, it teaches the parents how to work out
problems. When the parents can work together to solve problems, the child(ren) feel less stress.

Sign and date the Coversheet at the bottom of the page.
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Summons

On the Summons (SCCA 401F), fill in the name of the city where you live, theu date and sign.
Print your name and your : address.

Complaint

Fill in the blanks and boxes in paragraphs 1 through 5 in the Complaint - Visitation (SCCA
400.41 SRL-VIS).

Paragraph 6 lists basic visitation. If you want something different, write it in paragraph 7.

At the bottom of the Complaiut, {1l in the name of the city where you live. Date and sign the
Complaint.

Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis

The filing fee is $150. If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you may file the "Motion and
Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis” (Form SCCA 405F) with your signed and notarized
Financial Declaration. By filling out and signing this form and having it notarized, you are
swearing tnder oath that you do not have the funds available to pay the filing fee (3150). Do not
sign this form until you are in front of a notary public. The notary must watch you sign the form.

Do not fill in anything in the bottom section named ORDER. The Judge will review your
motion and complete the order section. If the motion is denied, you must pay the filing fee
($150) and other fees by the date set by the court. If the fee is not paid on or before that date,
your case will be dismissed, and you will have to begin the process again by re-filing your
information. If the Judge grants your motion, you may proceed without paying the filing fee.
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Financial Declaration

The Financial Declaration (SCCA 430) asks questions about the finances of both parties. Only
fill out the sections of the form that apply to you. Attach a copy of your most recent pay stub or
benefits statement. Fill in your gross monthly income. This is the amount of money you earn
before taxes, social security, or any deductions are taken out. When figuring your monthly
income and expenses, multiply any weekly amounts by 4.33 to get the monthly amount. Do not
sign this form uotil you are in front of a notary public. The notary must watch you sign the form.

Completing the Filing Process

"The next step is to file the papers with the appropriate Clerk of Court, Family Court Division,
and to pay the filing fee ($150), if applicable. You will file this in the county where your
child(ren) lives. Physical Jocations of all South Carolina Family Courts can be found on pages
12-13 of these instructions, in the telephone book, of online at www.sccourts.org.

Make two copies of the entire packet. Take the copies and the originals to the Clerk of Court in
the county where your child(ren) lives. If you are paying the fee, the Clerk of Court will: (1)
assign your case a docket nuriber; (2) record the docket number on the upper right hand corner
of all of the forms; (3) keep the originals; and (4) return two copies of the forms to vou. The
Clerk will keep the original and return two clocked copies to yow. One copy is for you to keep.
"The other copy is to serve on the Defendant.

It is important that you print the docket number that has been issued for your case on all future
forms you file with the court.

The filing fee is $150. You cannot pay with a personal check, credit or debit card; you can pay
with cash, a bank check, or a money order.

Ifyou cannot afford the filing fee, then you can file the Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In
Forma Pauperis. You will not have to pay to file, but you may have to pay the fee after the
Judge reviews your information and signs the Order. You should take a large brown envelope
with enough postage to mail everything back to you. The envelope should be addressed to you.
You will receive the envelope in the mail in about two weeks, Look at the Motion and Affidavit
to Proceed Jn Forma Pauperis. If the box at the bottom marked "granted" is checked, your
documents should have a date stamp and a docket number on tham Now you can serve the
papers on the Defendant,

Ifthe motion is denied, you must pay the filing fee ($150) and other fees by the date set by the couzt.
If the fee is not paid on or before that date, your case will be dismissed, and you will have to begin
the process again by re-filing your information.
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STEP 2: SERVICE OF PROCESS

READ THIS SECTION CAREFULLY. If you do not
serve these papers correctly, you may not be able to

ok

s

M
f{;.

=" proceed.

There are two steps for service of process.
(1) Serve the Defendant with ane clocked copy of the Farmily Court Coversheet, Summons,
Complaint (Visitation), and the Financial Declaration.
(2) Prove 1o the court the Defendant was properly served.

You must serve the Defendant in one of five ways. If one way is not successfil, try another one,
The most effective way to serve the Defendant is throngh the Sheriffs Office or by private
process server. There will be a fee for this service.

1) SHERIFF'S OFFICE

Contact the Sheriff's office in the county where the Defendant lives or works to serve the
papers. There will be a fee for this service. When the Sheriff serves the papers you filed
with the court, ask the office to complete the bottom half of the Affidavit of Service
(SCCA 402F) form before a notary, have the form notarized, and retun the form to you.
Many Sheriff's Offices use their own Affidavit of Service Form. File the Affidavit of
Service with the Clerk of Court. Xeep a copy for your own file.

2) PRIVATE PROCESS SERVER

Private process servers are listed in the telephone book and online. There will be a fee
for this service. It is usually more expensive than the Sheriffs Office. Give the Process
server the Affidavit of Service (SCCA 402F) from this packet, along with the papers you
filed with the court. The process server will give you the completed Affidavit of Service
Form or their own form after they have served the papers. File the Affidavit of Service
with the Clerk of Court. Keep a copy for your own file.

3) SERVICE BY COMMERCIAL DELIVERY SERVICE

You may use a commercial delivery company like UPS or FedEx to serve the papers you
filed with the court. The company must be one approved by the Infernal Reverme -
Service. Yon may check to be sure the company is approved at the IRS website:
https://www.irs.gov/uac/Private-Deliverv-Services-PDS

You need the delivery record. The delivery record will show the date, time and place of
delivery, the name of the person served and will have an original signature or electronic
image of the signature of the person served. If someone other than the Defendant signs
for the documents, you will not be able to proceed if the Defendant does not appear. If
delivery is refused or retumed undelivered, you must try another method. You can geta
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copy of the delivery record at the delivery company's office, by calling the delivery
company, or going online and printing a copy. You will need the tracking number that is
printed on your receipt.

Complete an Affidavit of Sexvice By Mailing (SCCA 400.43 SRL-VIS) showing the
documents served with the delivery record attached. Do not sign the Affidavit of Service
By Mailing form until you are in front of a notary public. The notary must watch you
sign the form. This affidavit and delivery record must be filed with the Clerk of Court.
Keep a copy for your own file. '

4) U.S. MAIL

You may use U.S. Mail. If you do, yon must send these docnments Certified Mail,
Restricted Delivery, Retarn Receipt Requested.

‘When you get the Teturn receipt card (green card) back from the U.S. Post Office, check
it to make sure thé Defendant signed the card. Xf anyone other than the Defendant
signed the return receipt card (green card), you do not have good service and must
try again,

If you receive the return receipt card (green card) and it was signed by the Defendant,
record the docket number you received from the Clerk of Court and the words "Summons
and Complaint" across the top of the return receipt (green card) and then make a copy of
the card for your file. '

Next, complets and sign the Affidavit of Service by Mailing form (SCCA 400.43 SRL.-
VIS) before a notary. Do not sign this form until you are in front of a notary. The
notary must watch you sign the Affidavit of Service by Mailing. Attach the refum
receipt card (green card) to the notarized Affidavit of Service by Mailing and take it to
the Clerk of Comt's office for filing.

SCCA400.4PSRL-VIS Bofl4



Check, highlight and circle
these fields

Check with your local Post
Office for the fees

‘Defendant's Wame and
Address

Keep a copy for your own file.

NAC CEPTAS' CE OF SERVICE

If'the Defendant is willing to accept service, have the Defendant complete the
Acceptance of Service Form (SCCA 400.42 SRL-VIS): Handing the papers to the
Defendant yourself is not good service of process unless the Defendant is willing and
completes the acceptance form. Take the completed form to the Clerk of Court's office
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for filing. File the Acceptance of Service with the Clerk of Cowrt and keep a copy for
your files.

If the Defendant is not served properly, you will not be able to

STEP 3 - REQUEST FOR HEARING

Complete the Request for Bearing (Visitation) (SCCA 400.44 SRL-VIS). Prinf your name in the
space marked "Plaintiff " Print your address, telephone number, and email address where
requested. Complete the information for the Defendant or the Attorney for Defendant. Print any
comments or issnes that you would like to bring to the Court's attention and sign your name at
the bottom of the form where it says "Plaintiff."

Take the original and a copy of the Request for Hearing to file with the Clerk of Court. The

Clerk will clock vour copy as filed and give if back to you for your records. The Clerk of Court
will inform you of your hearing date. The hearing date may be several weeks or months away.

After you receive the Notice of Hearing from the Court,

(1) Tmmediately send a copy of the Notice of Hearing to the Defendant or
Defendant's attorney.

(2) The Notice of Hearing must be sent by certified mafl, return receipt requested.

(3) Complete the Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing) (SCCA. 400.43
SRL-VIS) and sign before a notary. The notary must watch you sign. Atftach a
copy of the returned mail receipt and the green card if you receive it from the
post office. .

(4) File the Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing) (SCCA 400.43 SRL.-
" VIS) prior to the hearing. Keep a copy for your own file.

If the envelope used to mail the Notice of Hearing to the Defendant or Defendant's attorney is
returned from the U.S. Post Office, take the returned envelope to the hearing. It is only
necessary to show that the Notice of Hearing was mailed to the Defendant's last known address
(or their attorney's address). You do not have to show that the Defendant or Defendant's attorney
actually received the notice.
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STEP 4 - HEARING

This packet has a Script for Plaintiff's Testimony (SCCA 400.46 SRL- VIS) that yon should use
at the hearing. Review and complete the script before your hearing.

Complete the Order (Visitation) {SCCA 400.47 SRL-VIS). On the Order, print the date assigned
for your hearing and list the first name and initial of the last name and the year of birth for each
child.

On the day of your hearing:

(1) Axxive at the courthouse at least thirty (30) minutes prior to your scheduled time.
{2) Bring copies of your court documents.
¢ Ifyou have any other documents that you want the Judge 1o see, bring the original
: and two copies to court.
(3) Dress appropriately. : ‘
® Appropriate dress incindes suits, jackets, dresses, dress slacks, and neatly tucked
shirts. -
® Do NOT wear casual clothing sach as sweat clothes, tank tops, shorts, and similar
summer beachwear,
» Remove hats when entering the courthouse, unless they are required for a4 medical
condition.

(4) Make arrangements for a responsible adult to watch your child(rern) while you are in
couxt.

(5) Tum off your cell phone.

‘When it is time for your hearing, the Courtroom Deputy will call your name. At that Hime, enter
the courtroom and wait for instructions, Before you begin, you will be sworn in. When the
Tudge is ready, the Judge will tell you to begin or to present your case. You will read the script
as your testimony. Some Fudges will ask you questions instead.

=" You are required to make your case for visitation.

Make sure you tell the Judge everything that shows that you should be given visitation with your
child(ren). Bring a copy of your work schedule with you to court. This should be on your
company letterhead or printed from your company's website, This will be used to show the
Judge when you are not working and can visit with the child(ren). This is especially
important if you work a2 swing shift or work weekends. If you have any papers that you want
the Judge to see, hand the original and a copy to the Courtroom Deputy who will give the
original to the Judge and a copy to the Defendant. Be sure to keep another copy for yourself in
case the Judge or the Defendant asks you guestions about it.
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The Judge may stop you from time to time to ask a question. Listen carefully and answer the
questions the Judge asks you. The Defendant or the Defendant's attorney has the right to ask you
questions, called cross-examination. When you are finished testifying, the Judge will indicate
that you may leave the witness stand or sit down at the table. The Defendant will have a chance
to testify as well, and you will have a chance to ask the Defendant questions. At the end of the
hearing, the Jadge may tell you the decision or state that a decision will come Iater.

Ifthe judge grants your request at the hearing, the Judge will likely sign the Order (Visitation).
You may ask the Deputy to hand the Judge the order to finish completing. Make sure the Order
(Visitation) is filed with the Clerk of Court.

The Clerk of Court will provide you and the Defendant or the Defendant's attorney with 2
clocked copy of the Order (Visitation). Ifthe Judge does not sign the Order at the hearing, the
Judge will give the signed Order to the Clerk, and the Clerk will mail a copy to you and to the
Defendant.

i '
9 i‘,‘gjﬁ‘

The Order must be signed by the Judge and filed with the
Clerk of Court before you have the scheduled visitation.

FAMILY COURT CLERK OF COURT ADDRESSES

Judicial Physical Address Phone Number

County Circuit
Abbeville g™ 102 Court 8q., Abbeville, SC 29620 864-366-5312
Aiken 2 109 Park Ave., SE, Aiken, SC 29801 803-642-1715
Allendale 14% 292 Barnwell Hwy. Allendale, SC 29810 803-584-2737
Anderson, 10% 100 S. Main St., Anderson, SC 29624 864-260-4053
Bamberg 2 2959 Main Hwy., Bamberg, SC 25003 803-245-3025
Bamwell 22 141 Main St., Barnwell, SC 29812 803-541-1020
Beanfort 148 102 Ribaut Rd., Beaufort, SC 29902 843-255-5050
Berkeley 9% 300 California Ave., Moncks Corner, SC 843-719-4406

29461
Calhoun it 902 South F. R Duff Dr., St. Matthews, SC 803-874-3524
29135

Charleston o= 100 Broad St., #106, Charleston, SC 29401 843-958-5000
Cherokee i 125 E. Floyd Baker Blvd., Gaffney, SC 29340 | 864-487-2571
Chester 6 140 Main St,, Chester, SC 29706 803-385-2605
Chesterfield 4™ 200 W. Main St., Chesterficld, SC 29709 843-623-2574
Clarendon 3xd 3 W, Keitt 8t., Manning, SC 29102 803-435-5120
Colleton 14% 101 Hampton St., Walterboro, SC 29488 843-549-5791
Darlington 48 One Public Square, Darlington, SC 29532 843-388-4330
Dillon 4% 301 W. Main St., Dillon, SC 29536 843-774-1425
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Dorchester 1% 5200 E. Jim Bilton Blvd., St. George, SC 843-563-0120
29477
Edgefield 11 129 Courthouse Squnare, Edgefield, SC 29824 | 803-637-4080
Fairfield 6™ 101 8. Congress St., Winnsboro, SC 29180 803-712-6526
Florence 122 180 N. Irby St., MSC-E, Florence, SC 29501 | 843-665-3031
Georgetown 15" 401 Cleland St., Georgetown, SC 29442 843-545-3036
Greenville 132 305 E. North St., Ste. 232, Greeavills, SC 864-467-8551
29601
Greenwood g 528 Momment Street, Greenwood, SC 29646 | 864-942-8546
Hammpton 14™ 1 Eim St., Courthouse Square, Hampton, SC | 803-914-2250
29924
Homry 15% 1301 Second Ave., Conway, SC 29526 843-015-5080
Jasper 14® 265 Russell St., Ridgeland, SC 29936 843-726-7710
Kershaw 50 1121 Broad St., Camden, §C 29020 803-425-7223
Lancaster 6™ 104 N. Main St., Lancaster, SC 29720 203-285-1581
Laurens g™ 100 Hillcrest Square, Laurens, SC 29360 864-984-3538
Lee 3= 123 8. Main St., Bishopville, SC 29010 803-484-5341
Lexington 11% 205 E. Main St., Lexington, SC 29072 803-785-8212
Marion 12= 103 N. Main St., Marion, $C 29571 843-423-8240
Marlboro 4% 105 Main St., Bennettsville, SC 29512 843-479-5613
McCormick 1™ 133 8. Mine St., McCormick, SC 29835 864-852-2195
Newberry g 1226 College St., Newberry SC 25108 803-321-2110
Oconee 10™ 205 W. Main St., Wathalla, SC 29691 864-638-4280
Orangeburg 1% 151 Docket St., Orangeburg, SC 29115 803-533-6243
Pickens 13® 214 E. Main St., Pickens, SC 29671 864-898-5867
Richland 5™ 1701 Main St., Colhmbia, SC 29201 803-576-1929
Saluda 11% 100 E. Church St., Satuda, SC 29138 864-445-4500
Spartanburg 7% 180 Magnolia St., Spartanburg, SC 29306 864-596-2591
Sumter 3 141 N: Main St., Sumter, §C 29150 803-436-2237
Union 16= 210 W. Main St., Union, SC 29379 864-429-1630
Williamsburg | 3 125 W. Main St., Kingstree, SC 29556 843-355-9321
York 16T 2 Congress St., York, SC 29745 803-628-3039
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Plaintiff Visitation Checklist

Complete the forms in Section 1 of this packet - Family Court Coversheet, Summons,
Complaint, Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (if needed), and Financial
Declaration Form.

Maks two copies of these forms.

File these forms with the Clerk of Court in the appropriate couﬁty and pay the $150 filing
fee unless the motion to proceed fn Forma Pauperis has been granted.

Serve copies of these forms on the Defendant in one of five ways: (1) Sheriff's office, (2)
Private Process Server, (3) Commercial Delivery Service, (4) U.S. Mail, (5) Acceptance of
Service. ’

Complete the Request for Hearing and file it with the Proof of Service with the Cletk of
Court. '

Once you receive the Notice of Hearing from the Clerk of Court, mail a copy of this Notice
to the Defendant cr the Defendant's attorney by certified mail. File the Affidavit of Mailing
with the Clerk of Court. :

To prepare for your hearing, complete the Script and the,brder (Visitation).

On the day of your hearing, you should arrive at least 30 minutes early, dress appropriately,
turn off your cell phone, and remove your hat. Do not bring your children.

At the Iﬁearing,'you will testify using the Script for Plaintiff's Tésthnony. The Defendant or
the Defenda;lt‘s attorney and the Judge may ask you questions.

The Judge will also allow the Defendant to present his/her case, and you will have an
opportunity to ask questions.

At the end of the hearing, the Judge may grant or deny your request or tell you a decision
will come later. The Tudge may sign the Order (V: 1sitation) or make his or her own Order.

If the judge signs your Order (V. isitation), be sure that the signed Order is filed with the
Clerk of Court's office and you receive a clocked copy for your files.

If the Tudge does not sign the Order at the hearing, a copy will be mailed to you.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT

) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )

)

)

Plaintiff, ) FAMILY COURT COVERSHEET
Vs. ) p
)
)

Defendant. ) Docket No.

NOTE: The coversheet and information contained herein neither replaces nor supplements the filing and service of pleadings or
other papers as required by law. This form is required for docketing purposes for the Clerk of Conrt and must be signed and dated,
and filled out completely. A capy of this coversheet muest be served om the defendani(s) along with the Swmmons and Complaint.

Sabmitted by: SCBar#

Address: Telephone #
Fax #

Email: Other:

DOCKETING INFORMATION (Check one box below if filing in a Mardatory Mediation County)
L This case is subject to MEDIATION pursuant to the Family Court Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules.
{JThis case is exempt from ADR (certificate attached).

Nature of Action, Codes
(Check One)
Marital Dissolution Support
[ Divorce (110) [ Child Support — Private (501)
[] Atmmilment (E20) [J Child Sugport— Administeative Process (502)

I ] Separate Srpport and Matntenance (130)
£ Registration of Foreign Divores Decree - withont sepport/custody (190)
[ Registration of Foreips Divores Decres— with support/oastody (191)

[l Marital Dissolution — Other (199)

[J Child Support— Jadicial Process (503)

[T Registration of Forelgn Order of Support (504)
[ UTFsA — Qutgofng (505)

(] UIFSA ~ Incoming (306)

[ Modification of Child Suppast— Private (507)
] Modification of Child Sappart— DS (508)

LI Modification of Alimony (525)

[T College Bxpenses (5307

[(Support — Other (599)

Abnse and Neglect
[ Abuse and Neglect— Child (210)
[J Abrse and Negleot— Adult (220}

[ Abuse and Neglect — Other (299)

Custody/Visitation
[} Child Custody/ Visitation (610}
Juvenile Delinquency 7 Modification of Costody/Visitation (615)
[ Truaney (311) ] Régisteation of Ferelza Child Custody Order (690)
O Incomigible (312) [ Custody/Visitation — Other (695)
[ Runaway (313)
] Criminal Offense (320) MisceBaneous Actions
1] Favenile Definguency — Other (395) [ Name Change (710)
[[] Comection/Birth Resord (720}
[l Tudicial Bypass (730}
[[] Adoption (740}
Frotection from Domestic Abuse 7] Fereign Adoption (741)

L] Domestic Abuse - Itimats Partnor (410}
L] Domestic Abnse—Minor (420)

[ Registration of Foreign Order of Protection (490)

[ Domestic Abnse— Other (495)

Submitting Party Signature:

] Post Dissolution, Bquitable Distribution {750)
] Pateraity — Private (761)

[] Pateraity ~DSS (762)

[ Tenninaticn of Parental Rights — Private (771}

[} Termination, of Parertal Rights — DSS (772)
] Miscellansons Actions ~ Others (795)

Date:

Custodial Parent (if epplicable):

Note: Frivolous civil proceedings are subject to sancHons

Sanctons Act, 8.C. Code Ann. § 15-36.10 et seq.
SCCA 467 (12/2015)

purstant to Rule 11, SCRCE zud the South Carolina Frivelous Civil Proceedings



Effective Janunary 1, 2016, family court actions in all counties are subject to mediation. Under the provisions of the
Supreme Court’s Rules for Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), mediation is defined as [an] informal process in
which a third-party mediator facilitates settlement discussions between parties. Any settlement is voluntary. In the
absence of settlement, the parties lose none of their rights to trial.

Also under the ADR Rules, the parties may agree on a mediator or the Clerk of Court will appoint a mediator from
the certified list. If the Clerk appoints a mediator from the Hst, the mediator will be certified by the Board of
Asbitrator and Mediator Certification and may be either a lawyer, a licensed mental health professional or any other
individual meeting the cerfification requirements.

Whether or not the mediator is a lawyer, if appointed by the court, the charge per hour is set at a specified amount
under the provisions of ADR Rule 0. Parties are responsible for payment of the mediator as set out in ADR Rule 9.

SUPREME COURT RULES REQUIRE MEDIATION OF ALL CONTESTED DOMESTIC RELATIONS
ACTIONS. TF THE DOCKETING INFORMATION OGN PAGE 1 OF THIS COVERSHEET INDICATES THAT
THIS CASE IS SUBJECT TO MEDIATION YOU ARENQTIFIED TEAT MEDIATED SETTLEMENT
CONFERENCES ARE REQUIRED IN THIS CASE, AND THAT THE COURT-ANNEXED ADR RULES
SHALL APPLY TO ALL CASES IN WHICH MEDIATION IS REQUIRED. FOR ADDITIONAL
INFORMATION CONCERNING THE PROCESS AND TIME FRAMES, PLEASE CONSULT THE ADR
RULES. KEY SECTIONS OF THE RULES ARE IDENTIFIED BELOW.

CONTESTED ACTIONS INVOLVING CUSTODY AND VISITATION

Rula3 Actions Subject o ADR

Rule 4 (1EHD &(5) Appointment of Mediator by Family Court
Rule 5(g) Scheduling in Family Court

Rule 6(g) Agreement in Femily Couort

Rale 7(f) Reporting Results of Conference
Rule9 Compensstion of Nentral

ALL OTHER CONTESTED ACTIONS

Rule 3 Actions Subject to ADR.

Raule 4(d)(2)(3)4) &(5) Appointment of Mediator by Family Court
Rule 5(g) Scheduling in Family Court

Rule 6(g) Agreemetit in Family Court

Ruds 7(f) Reporting Results of Conference
Rule @ Compensation of Neutral

Indigent Cases: Where a mediator hias been appomted, a party may move before the Chief Judge for
Administrative Purposes to be exempted from payment of neutral fees and expenses based upon indigency.
Applications for indigency shall be filed no later than ten (10) days after the ADR conference has been concluded.
Determination of indigency shall be in the sole discretion of the Chief Judge for Administrative Purposes,

Please Note: Attendance at mediafed setflement conferences is mandatory. You must comply with the
Supreme Court rules regarding court-ordered mediation. Failure to do so may affect your case and may
result in sanctions.

Note: Frivolous civil proceedings are subject to sanctions pursuant to Rule 11, SCRCP and the South Carolina Frivolons Civil Proceedings
Senetions Aot, 5.C. Code Aon. § 15-36-10 et seq.

SCCA 467 (12/2015)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA, IN THE FAMILY COURT
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF
SUMMONS

Plaintiff,
vs.

R A W v

Defendant. ) DocketNo.

TO THE DEFENDANT ABOVE-NAMED:

YOU ARE BEREBY SUMMONED and notified that an action has been filed against
you in this court. Thirty (30) days after the day you receive this Summmons and Complaint, you
taust respond in writing to this Complaint by filing an Answer with this court. You must also
serve a copy of your Answer to this Complaint upon the Plaintiff or the Plaintiff's Attomey at
the address shown below. ¥ you fail to answer the Complaint, judgment by default could be

rendered against you for the relief requested in the Complaint.

Date: ‘ 20 — e
e g Plaintiff/ Attomey for Plaintiff Signature

, S.C.

Print Name:
Address:

SCCA 401F (12/2009)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROCLINA } IN THE FAMILY COURT
COUNTY OF ) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
)
g
Plaintiff, ) COMPLAINT
) (Visitation)
Vs, )
)
> )
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.:
)
The Plaintiff would respectfully show that:
L. Plaintiff lives in (city), County,
(state).
2. I believe that the Defendant lives in (city),

County, South Carclina.

3. Plaintitfis the 0 Father/ 11 Mother of the following child(ren):

Child’s First Name and Last Initial Year of Birth
. .
b.
c
d.
4, I believe that the minor child(ren) has(have) lived in
County for at least 6 months.

5. This/these child(ren) are presently living with and in the care of Defendant,

" Page 1l of2
SCCA400.41SRL-VIS



6. Plainfiff wants to have scheduled visitation with the child(ren) including but not

limited to alternating weekends, alternating holidays, alternating school breaks, and additional

time in the summer,

7. Additional visitation requests are listed below (OPTIONAL):

i

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff prays for scheduled visitation with his/her child(ren) and for

such other and further relief as may be reasonable, Just and proper.

Plaintiff’s Signature

(city), South Carolina

Date: L 20

Page 2 of 2
SCCA400.418RL-VIS



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

Plaintiff,

V8.

Defendant.

e e il

IN THE FAMILY COURT OF THE
____ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

FINANCIAL DECLARATION

or

Docket No.

HUSBAND/FATHER

WIFE/MOTHER

Address

Address

Age

Age

Occopation

Occupation

Brployer

Employer

Employer
Address

Employer
Address

Gross Monthly Income

Hushand/Father

Wife/Mother

Principal Barnings from Employment ©

Overtime, Tips, Commission, Bonuses -

Pemsions, Retirement, and Annuities income

Additional Employment fncome

8ocial Security Benefits (SSA) and VA Benefits

Disability and Worker's Cempensation Benefits

Unemployment and AFDC

Bpousal or Child Suppert (from other marriage/relationship)

Dividends, Inferest, Trust Income, and Capital Gaing

Rental Income and Business Profits

Other (Specifyy:

TOTAL GROSS MONTHLY INCOME

Payroil Deductions from Manthly Tncome

Husband/Father

‘Wife/Mother

Federal Income Tax °

State Income Tax

Social Security and Medicare Tax (FICA)

Self-Emplayment Tax

Health and Dental Insurance (Adult)

Health and Dental Insiranee (Child)

Union Dues

Volumtary Retirement Conteibution (401(k), 457, IRA)

Mandatory Retirement Contrbution

Savings Plan

Other (Specify):

TOTAL MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS

NET MONTHLY INCOME °

SCCA 430 (12/2009)

1of>3




Estimate monthly expenses: (Specify which party is the custodial parenf and list name and relationship of all members of household
whass expenses are inchuded.

MONTHLY EXPENSES ° Hushand/Father “Wife/Mother
Residential Rent Payment

Mote or Morigage Payment on Residence(s)

Food and Honsehold Supplies

Ttilities, Water, and Garbage Collection

Telephons and Celluiar Phone

Medical, Dental and Disability Insarance Premiums (not
dedueted from paycheck)

Lie I.nsuxance Premivms (not dedneted fom paycheck)
Child Sopport (from other relationship)

Wozk Related Day Care

Spousal Support (from prior mamiags)

Auto Payment

"Aito Insurance, taxes, gasnling, and maintenance ’

SUBTOTAL:

Real Property Tax or Residence(s)

Maintenance for househoid ®

Adult Clothing

Children’s Clothing

Ceble Television, Satellits, and Internet/Online Services
Laundry and Dry Cleaning

Medical and Dental Expenses (not paid by insurance)

Prescriptions, Glasses, and Confacts (not paid by insurance]

Crildren’s tncidental expenses =

School lnnches, supplies, field trips, and fees

Enterfainment

Adult Incidental expenses

Al Tnstaliment payments =

Other (Specify):

SUBTOTAL:

TOTAL MONTHLY EXPENSES

Installment Loan Payments Section

Creditor For Monthly Fayment Balance Owed by

SCCA 430 (12/2009) 20of5



Other Debis and Obligations nof payable in monthly installments

Creditor For Date Payable ) Balance Owed by *°

Are you currently in Bagkuptey? L] YES T INO
Are any obligations listed above, including mortgage and note payments, in aears? [ ] YES [ NO
If yes, please list the obligations in arrears.

AT Mayrital Property Known to Pariies

Assets Hushand/Father Wife/Mother Joint

Cash and Money in Checking Acecnni(s)

Money fn Savings Acconnt(s), Credit Union, Money Mariet,
or Cext, of Dep.

Value of Volumtary Retirement Asconmi(s)

Valne of Pension Account

Value of Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securitiss, Miudnal
Funds

Value of Privately Held Stocks and Other Business

Value of Real Estate -~ Net of Mortgage Balances

Value of All Other Property”’
TOTAL ASSETS
Any Non Marital Property Known. to Parties
Description of Asset Tifle Ovaer Date of Source of Funds to Estimate Present market

Acquisition Acguirer i Value

I total assets are less than $300,000.60, sign- and have notarized.

If total assets are greater than $300,000.00, itemize assets by completing additional sections below and
sign and have notarized.

Finaneizal Accounts Section®®

Ovwner Name of Jostitution Type of Acconnt Balance

SCCA 430 (12/2009) 3 0f5




Voluntary Retirement Accomnts and Pension Acconnts Section

Type of Account

Value

Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section (Non-Retirement)™

Name of Company Number of Shares/Type of Aceon_nt Value
Real Estate Section™®
Owner Address Value Mortgage Balance Mortgage Equity
Other Property Section”
Owner Description of Asset ‘ Valne Loan Balance Equity
Signature
Sworn to before me this day :
of , 20
{(SEAL)
Notary Public for Sonth Carolina
My corupission expires:
Custodial Parent (if applicable):
SCCA 430 (12/2009) 4of 5




A recent paystub should be attached to the Financial Declaration. To compute Principal Eemings from Employment, first
determine whether you are paid semi-monthly, biweekly, or weelly. If you are pajd semi-monthly, multiply the gross
amount of your pay check by two. If you are paid biweekly, multiply the gross amount of your pay check by 26 and then

- divide by 12. Ifyou are paid weekly, multiply the amount of your paycheck by 52 and divide by twelve. Round to the

nearest whole dollar,
To compute Overtime, Tips, Commission, and/or Bonuses, take an average of your monthly earnings from overtime, tips,
commission, bonuses, ete. from the past three years or the length of employment if employed less than three years (including ©

- this year).

10.

11.

12.
13.

14.

15

16.

17.

To compute State, Local, and Social Security Tax deductions, nse the same formula used to compirte principal earnings in
endnote 1 above, or consult or kave your attorney consult an accountans.

Net monthly Income is equal to Total Gross Monthly Income minus Total Monthly Deductions.

Do not include any expense in the Monthly Expenses section that has already been included in the Deductions from Gross
Monthly Income on page one of the Declaration. :

Food Expense is to include the cost of grocerdes, toiletries, cleaning supplies, and casual sating out,
Auto Expenses are to include gasoline, ofl changes, fune-ups, tire replacement, maintenance, and related items.

Maintenance for Household is to include appliance and household repairs, landscaping, house cleaning, pest confrol, pool
service, alatm service, and other related items.

Clothing Expense is {0 include shoes and clothing purchases, clothing repair and alterations, and related items.
Lamdry Expense is to include the cost of lamndry service, dry cleaning, and refated items.

Children’s Incidental Expenses are o inclnde allowance, summer carap, baby sitters, lessons, activities, participatory sports
znd related #tems. '

£l

School Expense is to include tuition, supplies, field trips, dues, futors, locker rentals, school lunches, and other related ftems.
Entertainment is to include movies, theater, vacations, sporting events, compact dises, digital video dises, and related items.

Adult Tncidental Expenses are to mclude cosmetics, hair and nail care, books, magazines, newspapers, business dnes,
meraberships, pets, charity, religious dnes or tithes, gifts, bank charges, hobbies, and related ftems.

All Tnstadlment Toan Payments is the total amount itemized in Tastallment Loan Payments Section, which shouid include all
loan payments not already listed as a monthly cxpense. Examples: home equity loan, credit cards, ete.

Indicate which spouse legally owes the payment (husband, wife, or joint}.

Other property is to include antomobiles (minus loan balance), boats (minus loan balance), fimiture, firmishings, china,
sitver, jewelry, collectibles, and other personal property.

18. Ttomize Financial Accounts such as checking, savings, credit union, money market, or certificate of depesit accotnts in the

Financial Accounts Secton.

15. Itemize Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Stock Options and Mutnal Funds (excludiﬁg retirement agcounts) in the

Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutaa! Funds Section.

20. femize each paree] of Real Estate in the Real Estate Section.

SCCA 430 (12/2009) 50f 5



Plaintiff submits the followin

£FT SOUTH CAROLINA

%L/ JUDICIAL BRANCH
STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF ‘
1 JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

MOTION AND AFFIDAVIT TO

Plaintiff,
PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

VS.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

Defendant. ) FILE NO.

Motion for Waiver of Costs and Fees

I, . L - ., @am unable to pay the costs of filling and service in the

present matter and request that the court waive the costs and allow me to pfoceed in

forma pauperis.

g financial declaration and affidavit in support of the above

motion,

Address

Age

Occupation
Empioyer
Employer Address

Gross Monthly Income Amount:
1) Earnings (attach recent pay stubs) L
2) Overtime
3) Social Security, VA Benefits,

Workers’ Comp or Disability (SSh)

4) Unemployment
5} Alimony / Child Support (receiving)
6) Other (Specify)

Total Amount (Add fines 1-6):

Assets Amount:
1) Cash '

2) Money in Bank Accounts (Checking & Savings)
3) IRA/401k/ Pensions
4) Other (Specify)

Total Amount (Add lines 1-4):

SCCA 405 (Revised 06/2024) Page 10f2



SOUTH CAROLINA

& {:‘I ) )
1% JUDICIAL BRANCH

Monthly Expenses Amount:
1} Rent/Morigage L
2) Utilities S
3) Cell phone / Phone e
4) Food . :
5)  Child Support / Alimony (Paying) : '
6) Child Care
7)  Car Payment . ‘
8) Car Operating Expenses Sl
(Insurance, gas, maintenance)
9) Clothing R

10) Cable / Satellite TV / Internet

11) Medical / Dental / Vision Expenses L
12) Medical / Dental / Vision insurance o
13) Credit Card / Loan Payments L
14) Other (Specify) S

Total Amount (Add fines 1-14):

Sworn to before methis _ - day
Of =« 20 Signature of Plaintiff

Notary Public for South Carolina
My Commission Expires:

SCCA 405 (Revised 06/2024) Page 2 of 2



m SOUTH CAROLINA
&= JUDICIAL BRANCH

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

ORDER
IN FORMA PAUPERIS

Plaintiff,

VS,

Defendant. FiLE NO.

ORDER
L] Leave is Granted to proceed in forma pauperis without payment of the filing fee.
] Leave is Granted to proceed in forma pauperis without payment of the service cost.

] Leave is Denied to proceed in forma pauperis pursuant to Ex parte Martin, 321 S.C.
533, 471 S.E.2d 134 (1995).

] Leave is Denied to proceed in forma pauperis. Plaintiff has failed to establish
compliance with the Poverty Guidelines pursuant to Rule 3(b)(1), SCRCP.

If denied, this case will be dismissed without further order of the court if the filing
fee and associated costs are not paid on or before . "~ . S
20__ - .

Dated: - . B , 20

' Judicial Cireuit

Presiding Judge,

., South Carolina

NOTICE TO PLAINTIFF: The Court may assess costs against either party at hearing.

SCCA 405.1 (Revised 06/2024) Page 1 of 1



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
COUNTY OF ) JUDICTAL CIRCUIT
)
Plaintiff, ) ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE
) (Visitation)
VS. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

Pursuant to Rule 4(7) of the South Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, I certify that I
received a copy of the following:

Family Court Coversheet, Stmnmons, Complaint, and Financial Declaration

imthisactionon__ / / at the following location:

Date:A , 20

: Defendant's Signature
, 8.C.

Printed Name of Defendant

Home/Mailing Address

City, State, Zip

Telephone No.

SCCA400.428R1-VIS



INTHEFAMILY COURT

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA )
COUNTY OF ) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
| )
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
) BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Visitation)
vs. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

The Plaintiff states that (s)he served Defendant with a copy of the Family Court
Coversheet, Summons, Complaint, and Financial Declaration:
%ﬂ by certified mail, restricted delivery, return receipt requested (receipt attached) in the
United States Ma&l, with proper postage attached;
B by commercial delivery service pursuant to Rule 4(d)(%), South Carolina Rules of Civil
Procedure with delivery record attached;
at the address as follows:

Sworn to before me this

day of .20

Notary Public of South Carolina Plaintiff’s Signature

My Commission expires:

SCCA400.438RL-VIS



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) ___JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF ___~ )
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
Plaintiff, }
Ve, 3
)
)

Defendant. }  DocketNo.

Personally appeared before me, the affiant, who being duly sworn, states that ( Ihe/
[ Ishe) served the in this action on (Party Served).

Service was complefed in the following manner:
(check one)

[] Personally served on (Party served).

[7]  Served at their residence by leaving the documents with {(Name of the person served)
the (Relationship of the pexson served) of the person served, 2 person of age and discretion.
Service was competed at this address: at their residence by leaving the documents with

(Name of the person served) the _ (Relationship of the person served) of the person served,
a person of age and discrefion.

I (Name of the person served) the ____ (Relationship of the person served) of
(Corporation name). Service was competed at this address: on (date) at
CJAM/ CIPM) (time). '

[[]  Unable to locate and serve after diligent efforts to do so. The process is refurned
unexecuted. The following service attempts were made:

Affiant is not a party to this action, is not less than eighteen (18) years of age and has no

interest in or connection to this action.

Custodial parent (if applicable):

Sworn to before me this '
day of ,20

Notary Public of South Carolina Affiant Signature

My Commission expires:

SCCA 402F (12/2009)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA. hi IN THE FAMILY COURT
. ) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
} REQUEST FOR HEARING
Plamtiff, ) {Visitation)
V8. ) . ’
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.
Plaintiff:
Address:
Eome TPhone: Cell Phone:
Other Contact Phone: Email;
Defendant 01;‘ Attorney for Defendant:
Address:
Home Phone: Cell Phone:
Other Contact Phone: Email:

Contested: | | Ves [ No Child Custody Issue: [ ] Yes No
Amount of Time Requested: 3¢ minutes

Dates / Times the Plaintiff and/or Defendant is/are UNAVAILABLE (exclnde weekends and holidays): See
Attachad Hst(s)

Hearing Requested By: [[J PLAINTIEF [1DEFENDANT
COMMENTS /ISSUES:

Date: .20

,8.C. Signature

###*Section below to ke completed by Clerk of Conrt. ****
The Final Hearing m this matter is scheduled for day of 20 ,at

_ i [Jam/[Jpm., Courtroom , before the Honorable

SCCA400.448RL-VIS



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE EAMILY COURT
)] JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
} AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
) BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Notice of Hearing)
vs. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Daocket No.

Personally appeared the Plaintiff who states that (s)he served the Defendant with a copy
of the Notice of Hearing by certified mail, return receipt requested (receipt attached) in the

United States Mail, with proper postage attached, on ,20
addressed as follows:
Sworn to before e this
day of 520
Notary Public of South Carolina Plaintiff’s Signature

My Commission expires:

SCCA400.458RL-VIS



o Listen carefully and answer truthfodly.
s Be prepared to discuss the visitation schedule that you want.
s Take this script and your other papers with you to the witness stand.

PLAINTIFF’S SCRIPT FOR VISITATION HEARING

After you are sworn In, you should say:

-

/
s Your Honor, may I begin?

» My name is

e My address is:
in K County, (state).

o The Defendant lives in . County, South Carolina.

e This court has jurisdiction over this case because the child/children live(s) in
this county.

e I have filed a Financial Declaration with the Court that I ask the Court to
Teview.

o Iam the father/mother of (Name of each child)

o I am asking for scheduled visitation with my child/children as stated in the
Complaint.

o Ibelieve it would be in the best interest of my child/children to have
visitation with me.

e Your honor, that is all of my testimony. Iwill be happy to answer any
questions that you or the Defendant may have.

SCCA400.46SRL-VIS



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA. ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
COUNTY OF ) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
)
;)
)
Plaintiff, ) ORDER
) (Visitation)
V. )
: )
;)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.:
)
Date of Hearing: Defendant’s Attorney:
Judge: (Guardian ad Litem.
Plaintiff’s Attomey: Pro Se Court Reporter:

A hearing for visitation was held in this cass on the date listed above. Plaintiff was
present. [ Defendent was present. [1 Defendant was not present but was pmperly- notified of the
hearing, '

At the hearing, the Court determined it has jurisdiction over the subject matter and the
parties in this action. Venue is proper. Based on the evidence and testimony, the Court makes
the following findings of fact

1. Plaintiff is the (1 Father/ 0 Mother of the following child(ren) who are living with
and in the care of Defendant:

Child’s Pirst Name and Last Initial Yesar of Birth
a.
b.
c.
d
2. Plaintiff wants to exercise scheduled visitation with the child(ren).
3. Visitation Ois O is not in the best interest of the child(ren}.
SCCAAQ0.47SRL-VIS
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4. This Court further finds that

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED
0 Visitation is granted as shown in the attached schedule.
0 Visitation is granted as follows:

01 Visitation is denied for the following reasons:

{1 Other:

Failure to comply with this order may result in contempt proceedings:

AND IT IS SO ORDERED.

Family Court Judge

» South Carclinz

.20

SCCA400.47SRL-VIS
Page2 of 2



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
SELF-REPRESENTED IITIGANT VISITATION
PACKET

DEFENDANT

The Plaintiff is the parent who wants visitation and files the case with the Court. The Defendant
is the other parent or person with custody of the child or children, also known as the custodial
party. The instructions in this packet are for the Defendant.

WARNING: Yon are strongly encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney before filing-
any legal matter. This packet is designed to provide information and forms to people who are
representing themselves in court. Xf you proceed without an aftorney, it may negatively affect
your legal rights. Ifyou are unsure whether to proceed, or have questions about these forms or
your legal rights, please consult an attorney, Please note that clerks of courxt, court staff, and
judges may give you information about the court and its procednres but cannot give you legal
advice.

DISCLAIMER: The information in this packet is not legal advice ahd cannot replace the advice
of competent legal counsel licensed in your state. Visitation laws vary from state to state and the
information contained in this packet is specific to South Carolina. Please note that the
information contained in this packet is subject to change. Before filing, make sure that you have
the most current version at www.sccourts.org.

The information in this packet is intended for use by parents seeking visitation and is not
intended for use by grandparents or other relatives seeking visitatien. Itis recommended
that a grandparent or other relative seek advice from an attorney to seek visitation.

The following instructions will help you file an Answer for visitation in South Carolina without
an attorney. This is called pro se or selfirepresented litigant (SRL). While the self-represented
litigant may not incur the attorney expense, someone acting without an attorney does not have
the expert gnidance that an attorney can provide. The other party may choose to hire an afforney.
Depending on the outcome, you may be required to pay the other party's attorney’s fees and
costs.

If you do not know an attorney who can assist you, you may call the South Carolina Bar's
Lawvyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a Family Law attorney in your county.
Members of the South Carolina Bar's Lawyer Referral Service have been in practice for more
than 3 years, are in good standing, have provided proof of malpractice insurance, and have
agreed to provide a 30 mitute consultation for no more than $50. If you cannot afford an
attorney, you may contact South Carolina Legal Services (SCLS) throngh the Legal Aid
Telephone Intake Service at 1-888-346-5592. Please note that to qualify for a legal aid attorney
through SCLS, your income must not be more than 125% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines.

SCCA 400.4D SRL-VIS 10f8
©2015 South Carolina Judicial Department. Use of this packet is restricted to not-for-profit-purposes.



PART 1: YOUR ROLE AS A DEFENDANT

The other parent, who is the Plaintiff in this case, has ﬁled for wsﬂauon The Plaintiff roust
serve documents to on yon i one of five ways:

By the Sheriff's office;

By aprivate process server;

By commercial delivery from a company like UPS or FedEx;

By Certified U.S. Mail, Return Receipt Requested, Restricted Delivery; or

* Ifyou voluntarily accept the Summons apd Complaint from the Plaintiff and sign an
- Acceptance of Service.

Once you are served with the documents you have 30 days
to complete and file your paperwork with the Clerk of
Court.

e N

F lﬂﬁ%

PART 2: COMPLETING YOUR PAPERWORK

The following forms are included tn this packet:

1. Defendant's Answer (SCCA 400.48 SRL-VIS)

2. Financial Declaration Form (SCCA 430)
3. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Answer) (SCCA 400.49 SRL-VIS)

Fill in the name of'the county where the case was filed in the upper left hand comer of each of
these documents. Print the name of the child(ren)'s other parent in the blank above the word
Plaintiff. Then print your name in the space labeled Defendant. Fill in the docket mmmber found
on the Complaint. This section of all legal foxms is called the caption. This caption shonld be

completed on all forms filed with the court.

i
SRR

B . .
BLATE 6 SDUTH CAROLINA

g IN THE EAMILY COTET
coueTy oF EEY g

)

3

EEE TUDISIAL CIRCODT

T DEFENDANTI'S ANSWER

{Visfrafion}
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You must file your answer with the same Clerk of Cowrt where the Complaint was filed. A
chart showing the addresses and phone numbers of the Clerks of Court is on pages 6-7.

Defendant's Answer

Read the Complaint carefully and complete the Answer to the best of your abilities. Read each
numbered paragraph in the Complaint. Find the matching numbered paragraph in the Answer.

You will have the chance to agree or disagree (admit or deny) with each claim made by the
Plaintiff,

» If'yon admit (agree with) each and every statement in that paragraph of the Complatnt,
check the box in the Answer niext to "admits each and every statement.”

¢ Ifyou deny {disagree with) each and every statement in that paragraph of the Complaint,
check the box in the Answer next to "denies each and every statement.”

o [f'you agree with part of the claim in that paragraph of the Complaint, but not all of it,
check the box in the Answer nexi to "admits paragraph except for the following" and
write in the part that you disagree with.

DR o G A b B T O, e e T T 2 TN

The Pledatif would respactfully shovr thad:

1, PluintiffHves s | ), Comsty,

1. &g ro paragraph 1 to ke Complaior, Defrndaa:

BT admits cach and sweey statement
[ denies #ach and every starement o
aiogty patagragh 1 exzept for the Sfowing T

-Deferidant Genies the renmining statemants in paraprph 1,
2 4xtoparagmph 2 in fic Complaine, Defeadant
it each and every strtement

[5] demizs cach and cvery statewrent .
FE admizs peragragh 2 excops Sor the fallowing: BEEL.

Defbrdant dezzes remmaining sabensents In pavagraph 3.

3. Asto pacagraph 3 inthe Compladnt, Defendant

= If you have more information you want the Judge to consider, add your request to the
blank lines below paragraph number 7.

Finanecial Declaration

The Financial Declaration (SCCA 430) asks questions about the finances of both parties. Only
fill out the sections of the form that apply to you. Attach a copy of your most recent pay stub or
benefits statement. Fill in your gross monthly income. This is the amount of HOTEy yOu arn
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before taxes, social security, or any deductions are taken out. When figuring your monthly
income and expenses, multiply any weekly amounts by 4.33 to get the monthly amount.

Do not sign this form until you are in front of a notary
public.

The notary must watch you sign the documents and provide the notary's seal. You will need to
bring picture identification. You can. find a notary at 2 bank, fumeral home, post office, or
courthonse. The notary may charge no more than a §5 fee per form (cash only). Below is an
image of a notary block. If you see this on a form, it must be notarized.

BT o Rt S 5 e v R T 3 BTt o T e

EWORN 10 before methis
duyof

Nowry Publls for Sonth Carollnz
My Commission Fxpires:

R S e A T Ay S TR e ] T £0) ey i R R i ST TP I T ETT
P e e e e D e N R e e e e

File the Answer and Financial Declaration Form with the Clerk of Court's office in the county -
where the Complaint was filed. Take the originals and two copies to that Clerk of Court's office.
Ask the Clerk to clock both the originals and copies of the forms. The Clerk will keep the
original forms and will return two clocked copies of each form to you.

Mail a clocked copy of both the Answer and Financial Declaration Form to the Plaintiff or to the
Plaintiff's attorney by first class mail. Keep the other clocked copies for your files.

Affidavit of Service by Mailing

After you have mailed the Answer and Financial Declaration form, complete the Affidavit of
Service by Mailing. Complete the form by filling in the date and address. You cannot fill out
the Affidavit of Service until you have filed and mailed the Answer and Financial Declaration.
Do not sign this form until you are in front of a notary public. File the original Affidavit of

. Service Mailing with the Clerk of Court and keep one copy for your files.
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PART 3: THE HEARING

On the day of your hearing:

(1) Arzive at the courthouse at least thirty (30) minutes prior to your scheduled time.
(2) Bring copies of your court documents.
* Ifyou have any other documents that you want the Fudge to see, bring the original
and two copies to court. '
(3) Dress appropriately. :
= Appropriate dress includes suits, jackets, dresses, dress slacks, and neafly fucked
shirts,
* Do NOT wear casnal clothing such as sweat clothes, tank tops, shorts, and similar
summer beachwear,
* Remove hats when entering the courthouse, unless they are required for a medical
condition.
(4) Make arrangements for a responsible adult to watch your child(ren) while you are in
court.
(5) Turn off your cell phone.

When it is time for the hearing, the Courtroom Deputy will call the Plaintiff's name. At that
time, enter the courtroom and wait for instructions. The Plaintiff will present his/her case first.
You should only speak when asked to do so. You will bave the opportunity to question the
Plaintiff and witnesses. After the Plaintiff and witnesses have testified, you will be given an
opportunity to testify and present witnesses for your case. Before yon begin, you will be sworn
in, ,

If you are concerned for the care or safety of the child(ren) be prepared to explain this to the
Judge. You may ask the Fudge to limit visitation or for supervised visitation. Limited visitation
mzy be only a couple of hours at a time, no overnight visits, or held in apublic place (fast food
restaurant, DSS, etc.). Supervised visitation means that a third party {friend, relative, etc.) must
be present at all times when the Plaintiff visits with the child(ren). If you and the Plaintiff agrec
on a person who is willing and able to supervise, you can tell the Jndge. If you cannot agres on a -
person, the Judge will pick someone for you

The Judge may stop you from time to time to ask you a question. Listen carefully, and answer
the questions the Tudge asks you. If you have documents you want the Faudge to see, hand the
original and a copy to the Courtroom Deputy who will give the original to fhe Judge and a copy
to the Plaintiff At the end of the hearing, the fudge may tell you the decision and sign an order
or state that a decision will come later. The Clerk of Court will provide you and the Plaintiff or
the Plaintiff's attorney with a copy of the order. If the Tudge does not sign the order at the
hearing, a copy will be mailed to you

SCCA 400.4D SRL-VIS 50f8
©2015 Sonth Carolina Judicial Department. Use of this packet is restricted to not-for-profit-purposes.



FAMILY COURT CLERK OF COURT ADDRESSES

Judicial Physical Address Phone Number
County Circuit ,
Abbeville g 102 Court Sq., Abbeville, SC 29620 864-366-5312
Afken o= 1089 Park Ave., SE, Aiken, SC 20801 803-642-1715
Allendale 142 292 Bamwell Hwy. Allendale, SC 20810 803-584-2737
Anderson 10% 100 8. Main St., Anderson, SC 29624 864-260-4053
Bamberg ons 2959 Main Hwy., Bamberg, SC 29003 803-243-3025
Barnwell o 141 Main St., Barnwell, SC 29812 803-541-1020
Beanfort 14" 102 Ribaut Rd., Beanfort, SC 29902 843-255-5050
Berkeley g™ 300 California Ave., Moncks Comer, SC 843-719-4406
29461
Calhoun 1% 902 South F. R Duff Dr., St. Matthews, SC * | 803-874-3524
29135
Charleston 9= 100 Broad St., #106, Charleston, SC 29401 843-958-5000
Cherokes 7= 125 E, Floyd Baker Blvd., Gaffoey, SC 29340 | 864-487-2571
Chester 6" 140 Main St., Chester, SC 29706 803-385-2605
Chesterfield 4% 200 W. Main St., Chesterfield, SC 29709 843-623-2574
Clarendon 3rd 3 W. Keitt 8t., Manning, SC 29102 803-435-5120
Colleton 142 _1.101 Hampton St., Walterboro, 8C 29488 843-549-5791
Darlington, 4% One Public Square, Darlington, SC 29532 843-398-4330
Dillon 4% 301 W, Main St., Dillon, 8C 29536 843-774-1425
Dorchester 1% 5200 E. Jim Bilton Blvd., St. George, SC 843-563-0120
29477
Edgefield 11® 129 Courthouse Square, Bdgefield, SC 29824 | 803-637-4080
Fairfield 62 101 8. Congress St., Winnsboro, SC 29180 803-712-6526
Florence 12" 180 N. Irby St, MSC-E, Florence, SC 29501 | 843-665-3031
Georgetown 15" 401 Cleland St., Georgetown, SC 29442 843-545-3036
Greenville 13® 305 E. North St,, Ste. 232, Greenville, SC 864-467-8551
29601
Greenwood g 528 Monument Street, Greenwood, SC 29646 | 864-942-8546
Hampton 14% 1 Elm 8t., Courthouse Square, Hampton, SC | 803-914-2250
29924
Homry 15® 1301 Second Ave., Conway, SC 29526 843-915-5080
Jasper 14% 265 Russell St., Ridgeland, SC 29936 843-726-7710
Kershaw 5t 1121 Broad St., Camden, SC 20020 803-425-7223
Lancaster 6o 104 N. Main St., Lancaster, SC 29720 803-285-1581
Laurens g= 100 Hillerest Square, Laurens, SC 29360 864-984-3538
Lee 3 123 8. Main St., Bishopville, SC 29010 803-484-5341
Lexington 11™ 205 E. Main St., Lexington, SC 29072 803-785-8212
Marion 12% 103 N. Main $t., Marion, SC 29571 843-423-8240
Marlboro 4= 105 Main St., Bennettsville, SC 20512 843.479.5613
McCormick 112 133 8. Mine St., McCormick, SC 29835 864-852-2105
Newberry ge 1226 College St., Newberry SC 29108 803-321-2110
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Oconee 10% 205 W. Main St., Walhalla, SC 29691 864-638-4280
Orangeburg 1 151 Docket St., Orangeburg, SC 20115 803-533-6243
Pickens 13% 214 E. Main St., Pickens, SC 29671 864-893-5867
Richland 5* 1701 Main St., Columbia, SC 29201 803-576-1929
Saluda 1% 100 B. Church St, Saluda, SC 29138 864-445-4500
Spartanburg 75 180 Magnolia St., Spartanburg, SC 29306 864-596-2591
Sumter 3@ 141 N. Main St., Sumter, SC 20150 803-436-2237
Union 16% 210 W. Main St., Union, SC 29379 864-429-1630
Williamsburg | 3°© 125 W. Main St., Kingstree, SC 209556 843-355-9321
York 16% 2 Congress St., York, SC 29745 2803-628-3039
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Defendant Visitation Checldist

Once you are sexved with a Summons and Complaint for Visitation, complete the Answer.
Also, complete the section of the Financial Declaration Form that applies to you and have
the form notarized.

File the completed Answer and Financial Declaration Form with the Clerk of Court's office
within 30 days after service.

Mail a clocked copy of the Answer and Financial Declaration Form to the Plaintiff or
Plaintiff's attorney within 30 days after service.

Complete and file the Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Answer).

The Plaintiff or Plaintiff's attorney will then mail you a Notice of Hearing, which will give
you the date and time of your hearing.

Make sure you have appropriate childcare for the day of your hearing.

Asrive on the day of your hearing at least 30 minutes early and dress appropriately. Turn off
your cell phone and remove your hat.

At the hearing the Plaintiff and his/her witnesses will testily first. The Judge will give vou
the opporfunity to question the Plaintiff and his/her witnesses and present your case.

At the end of the hearing, the Fudge may grant or deny the Plaintiff's request or tell you a
decision will come later. The Judge may sign the Plaintiff's Order (Visitation) or make his
or her own order.

If the Judge signs an order at the hearing, be sure that the signed Order (Visitation) is filed
with the Clerk of Court's office and you receive a clocked copy for your files.

If the Judge does not sign the order at the hearing, a copy will be mailed to you.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA. ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) JUDICIAL CIRCUTT
COUNTY OF )
)
) DEFENDANT’S ANSWER
Plaintiff, ) (Visitation)
V8. )
)
)

Defendant. ) Docket No.

The above named Defendant files the following Answer to the Complaint (Visitation):
1. Asto paragraph 1 in the Complaint, Defendant
[ | admits each and every statement

|| denies each and every statement
[ | admits paragraph ] except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 1.
2. Asto paragraph 2 in the Complaint, Defendant
[_] admits each and every statement

[[] denies each and every statement
[_] admits paragraph 2 except for the following:

Defendant dendes the remaining statements in paragraph 2.
3. Asto paragraph 3 in the Compleint, Defendant
[_] admits each and every statement

{_] denies each and every staternent
[1 admits paragraph 3 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining staternents in paragraph 3.
4. As to paragraph 4 in the Complaint, Defendant
[] admits each and every statement

[ ] denies each and every statement
[ ] admits paragraph 4 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 4.
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5. Asto paragraph 5 in the Complaint, Defendant

L] admits each and every staterment
[ ] denies each and every statement
[ ] admits paragraph 5 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statepuents in paragraph 3.
6. As to paragraph 6 in the Complaint, Defendant
[_] admits each and every statement

[ ] denies each and every statement
[ 1 admits paragraph 6 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 6.
7. As to paragraph 7 in the Complaint, Defendant
[__| admits each and every statement

[ denies each and every statement
[ 1 admits paragraph 7 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 7.

Defendant’s Signature

Printed Name of Defendant

Street Address

City, State, Zip

Telephone No,
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