INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
SELF-REPRESENTED LITIGANT CHILD SUPPORT
INCREASE PACKET

PLAINTIFF

The Plaintiff is the person who is trying to increase the child support. The Plaintiff is the person
who wants things to change and who has filed this case. The Defendant is the person who is
being sued. The instructions in this packet are for the Plaintiff.

WARNING: You are strongly encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney before filing
any legal matter. This packet is designed to provide information and forms to people who are
representing themselves in court. If you proceed without an attorney, it may negatively affect
your legal rights. If you are unsure whether to proceed, or have questions about these forms or
your legal rights, consult an attorney. Please note that clerks of court, court staff, and judges
cannot give you legal advice.

DISCLAIMER: The information in this packet is not legal advice and cannot replace the
advice of competent legal counsel licensed in your state. Child support laws vary from state to
state and the information contained in this packet is specific to South Carolina. Please note that
the information contained in this packet is subject to change and make sure that you have the
most current version of this packet before filing.

The following instructions will help you file for a child support increase in South Carolina pro
se, or without an attorney. Pro se is a Latin term meaning “in person” or “on one’s own behalf.”
As the courts see more people representing themselves in court, you may also hear the term self-
represented litigant instead of pro se. While the self-represented litigant may not incur the
attorney expense, the self-represented litigant does not have the expert guidance that an attorney

can provide.

If you do not know an attorney who can assist you, you may call the South Carolina Bar’s
Lawyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a Family Law attorney in your county.
Members of the South Carolina Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service have been in practice for more
than 3 years, are in good standing, have provided proof of malpractice insurance, and have
agreed to provide a 30 minute consultation for no more than $50. If you believe you qualify for

South Carolina Legal Services, you may contact their Legal Aid Telephone Intake Service at 1-
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888-346-5592. Please note that to qualify for SCLS, your income must not be more than 125%
of the Federal Poverty Guidelines.

BEFORE YOU FILE

Is your order from South Carolina?

Once South Carolina issues a child support order, South Carolina is the only state that can

change the order as long as you, the Defendant, or the child still lives in South Carolina.

Is your order from another state?

If another state issued the order and you, the Defendant, or the child still lives in that state, the
paperwork for an increase must be filed in that other state. You may want to contact the
administrative offices of the court in that state to determine if they have similar paperwork you

can file. Information about other states may be available on http://www.lawhelp.org.

Did you and the Defendant have another child?
You should not use this packet if you would like an increase because you and the Defendant
have another child who was not included in the original child support order. You may contact

the Department of Social Services Child Support Enforcement Division or an attorney.

Have you checked the child support guidelines?
Child support is calculated by using the South Carolina Child Support Guidelines. Go to the
South Carolina Department of Social Services website and complete the child support calculator.

The DSS website is http://www.state.sc.us/dss/csed/calculator. him.

The South Carolina Department of Social Services Child Support Enforcement Division
considers a change of circumstances substantial when the new child support amount is 20%
more than the old amount. This may be hard to know before you begin your action as the
Defendant’s income is also considered in the child support calculation. Judges do not have to

follow this 20% standard, but many use it as a reasonable guide.
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The results of the child support calculator do not guarantee that a Family Court

’ Judge will increase your child support amount.

If you get a lower support amount when using the calculator, you may decide not to file for an
increase in your support amount. If you file an action for an increase, the Defendant can file a

counterclaim and ask for a reduction.

The judge may decrease the child support amount if the results of the child

support calculator show that there should be a decrease instead of an increase.

To get an increase you must show a substantial change of circumstances. Some common
examples are:

¢ change in day care costs for children in the support order

¢ the needs of the child(ren) have increased

the Defendant’s income has increased

you lost your job through no fault of your own

you make substantially less than you did when you the child support order was 1ssued
a medical condition or disability that prevents or limits your ability to work

you and the Defendant have had another child

you and the Defendant have a child who has moved in with you

To show a substantial change of circumstances, you will have to provide proof of the changes.

The following chart lists some examples that you can use in court for evidence.

If you... bring 3 copies of these to court:

job applications, information from One Stop,

lost your job through no fault of your own rejection letters, or ofher proof

applications for social security assistance,

have become disabled social security insurance, or veterans benefits;
medical evidence from your doctor
have increased child care costs day care bills and expenses
increased child needs documentation of medical costs, proof of other
eXpenses
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Is your case handled by the South Carolina Department of Social Services, Child Support
Enforcement Division?

You should contact the Child Support Regional Office that handles your case and request that
your child support case be reviewed for an increase. If you don’t know which office handles
your case, you can go to the DSS Child Support website to see the counties that are handled by
each regional office and the addresses and phone numbers. Their website address is

htip://www.state.sc.us/dss/csed/contact.htm#region.

Child support cases that are not handled by DSS are called “private” cases. You may use this

packet to file a court action for modification of these cases.

PART 1: COMPLETING YOUR PAPERWORK

The next step is to study all of the forms listed below. The name of each form can be found in
the upper right hand corner and the form number in the bottom left hand comer.

The following forms are included in this packet:

Section 1 - FILING

Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467)

Summons (SCCA 401F)

Complaint — Increase Child Support (SCCA 400.31 SRL-CSM)
Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (SCCA 403F)
Financial Declaration (SCCA 430)

Case Party Information Sheet (SCCA 453)

O L kL b

Section 2 — SERVICE
7. Service of Process Forms
a. Acceptance of Service (Child Support Modification) (SCCA 400.22 SRL-CSM)
b. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (SCCA 400.23 SRL-CSM)
c. Affidavit of Service (SCCA 402F)

Section 3 -~ REQUEST FOR HEARING
8. Request for Hearing (Child Support Modification) (SCCA 400.26 SRL-CSM)
9. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing) (SCCA 400.27 SRL-CSM)

Section 4 - HEARING
10. Order — Increase Child Support (SCCA 400.34 SRI-CSM)
11. Support Information Sheet (SCCA 446)
12. Script for Plaintiff's Testimony (400.33 SRL-CSM)
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Some of the information on each form will be the same, such as your name and address, but each
form has a different purpose and requires different information. It is important that you make
copies of all paperwork. Keep the paperwork in a safe place and bring it to court with you. If
any necessary information is missing, you risk your case being dismissed or delayed. If your
case is dismissed, you will have to begin again by filing your information with the Clerk of Court
a second time and paying the filing fee (§150).

SECTION 1 - FILING

You will start with the first six forms:

(1) Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467);

(2) Summons (SCCA401F);

(3) Complaint (Increase Child Support) (SCCA 400.31 SRL-CSM)

(4) Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (SCCA 405F);

(5) Financial Declaration Form (SCCA 430); and

(6) Case Party Information Sheet (SCCA 453).
On the first five forms, fill in the name of the county where you are filing this case. The county is
the county that handles the child support payments. You also need to fill in the number of the
judicial circuit. It is on your child support order. If you don’t have it, be sure to get this number
from the Clerk of Court and fill it in when you file. Then print your name in the space labeled
“Plaintiff.” You are the Plaintiff as you are the person asking for the increase. Next, print the
name of the person who pays the support where it is labeled “Defendant.” The other person, the
one being sued, is the Defendant. This section of all legal forms is called the caption. This

caption should be completed on all forms filed with the court.

On the Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467), print your contact information in the appropriate

spaces below the caption, which includes your name, address, and a reliable telephone number.

If you file in one of the counties listed at the top of Page 2 of the Family Court Coversheet,
check the box next to “This case is subject to Mandatory Mediation pursuant to the Family Court

Altemnative Dispute Resolution Rules.”
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If you do not file in one of the counties listed on Page 2 of the Family Court Coversheet, leave

both boxes in the DOCKETING INFORMATION section blank.

Then, check the box next to “Modification of Child Support — Private™ if this is a private case.
Check the box next to “Modification of Child Support — DSS” if this is a case with DSS. This
indicates the type of action you are filing. Sign and date the Coversheet at the bottom of the
page, and set this page aside. E

The Summons and Complaint will become the official court record that will establish your case
once you file them. It is important to complete each form accurately and truthfully. Complete
these forms to the best of your ability.

On the Summons, you will need to fill in the name of the city where you live, then date and sign.

You also need to print your name and your address.

Complaint

The Complaint (Increase Child Support) (SCCA 400.31 SRL-CSM) asks questions about where
you live and where the Defendant lives. In number 3, list the names and dates of birth of the

children who are included in the order,

At the bottom of the Complaint, fill in the name of the city where you live. Date and sign the

Complaint.

*#* Attach a copy of your support order to the Complaint. If you do not have a copy of the
support order, ask the Clerk of Court for a copy. There may be a small fee for the copies.***

Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis

The filing fee is $150. If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you may file the “Motion and
Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis” with your signed and notarized Financial Declaration.
By filling out and signing this form and having it notarized, you are swearing under oath that you
do not have the funds available to pay the filing fee ($150). Do not sign this form until you are

in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature on the form.
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Do not fill in anything in the bottom section named ORDER. The judge will review your
motion and complete the order section. If the motion is denied, you must pay the filing fee
{$150) and other fees by the date set by the court. If the fee is not paid on or before that date,
your case will be dismissed, and you will have to begin the process again by re-filing your

information.

Financial Declaration

The Financial Declaration (SCCA 430) asks questions about the finances of both the mother and
the father. Only fill out the sections of the form that apply to you. Attach a copy of your most
recent pay stub or benefits statement. Fill in your gross monthly income. This is the amount of
money you earn before taxes, social security, or any deductions are taken out. When figuring
your monthly income and expenses, multiply any weekly amounts by 4.33 to get the monthly
amount. You must take the Financial Declaration to a notary public before you signit. Do not
sign this form until you are in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature on the

Financial Declaration.

Case Party Information Sheet

The Case Party Information Sheet (SCCA 453) will be used by the Sheriff’s Office to serve the
papers. This information is about the Defendant, the person who pays the support and who needs

to be served with the papers. It is not information about you.

Completing the Filing Process

The next step, which officially begins the process, is to file the papers with the appropriate Clerk
of Court, Family Court Division, and to pay the filing fee ($150), if applicable. You will file
this in the county that handles the child support payments. Physical locations of all South

Carolina Family Courts can be found in the telephone book or online at hitp://www.sccourts.org.

Make two copies of the entire packet. Take the copies and the originals to the Clerk of Court in
the county where you pay support. If you are paying the fee, the Clerk of Court will: (1) assign

your case a docket number; (2) record the docket number on the upper right hand comer of all of
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the forms; (3) keep the originals; and (4) return two copies of the forms to you. One copy is for

you to keep. The other copy is to serve on the Defendant.

It 1s important that you print the docket number that has been issued for your case on all future
forms you file with the court. Only bring cash, a cashier’s check, or money order for the filing
fee ($150). Do not bring a personal check.

If you are filing the Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (SCCA 405F), you do
not have to pay to file but may have to pay the fee after the Judge reviews your information and
signs the order. You should take a large brown envelope with enough postage to mail everything
back to you. The envelope should be addressed to you. You will receive the envelope in the
mail in about two weeks. Look at the Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis. If
the box at the bottom marked “granted” is checked, your documents shoﬁld have a date stamp

and a docket number on them. Now you can serve the papers on the Defendant.

If the motion is denied, you must pay the filing fee ($§150) and other fees by the date set by the court.
If the fee is not paid on or before that date, your case will be dismissed, and you will have to begin

the process again by re-filing your information.

SECTION 2: SERVICE OF PROCESS

After you receive copies of the documents from the Clerk of Court, you will need to serve one
copy of the Family Court Coversheet, Summons, Complaint (Increase Child Support), and the
Financial Declaration on the Defendant or the Defendant’s attorney. Ifthis is a case handled by
DSS, you must make an extra copy of all of the papers that you are serving on the Defendant and

serve the papers on DSS Child Support Enforcement Division

(http://www.state.sc.us/dss/csed/region.htm). This is called Service of Process and can be done in

one of four ways:

1) ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE

If the Defendant or DSS Child Support Enforcement Division 1s willing to accept service,
have the Defendant or DSS complete the Acceptance of Service (SCCA 400.22 SRL-
CSM). Handing the papers to the Defendant yourself is not good service of process
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unless the Defendant is willing and completes the acceptance form. Take the completed
form to the Clerk of Court’s office for filing. Ask the Clerk of Court to make a copy of
the form for you at the time of filing.

2) U.S. MAIL

You must send these documents Certified Mail, Restricted Delivery, Return Receipt
Requested. When you get the return receipt card (green card) back from the U.S. Post
Office, check it to make sure the Defendant signed the card. If someone other than the
Defendant signed the return receipt card (green card), vou do not have good service

and must try again.

If you receive the refurn receipt card (green card) and it was signed by the Defendant or
DSS, record the docket number you received from the Clerk of Court and the words
“Summons and Complaint™ across the top of the return receipt (green card) and then
make a copy of the card for your file. Next, complete and sign the Affidavit of Service
by Mailing form (SCCA 400.23 SRL-CSM) before a notary. Do not sign this form until
you are in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature on the
Affidavit of Mailing. Attach the return receipt card (green card) to the notarized
Affidavit of Mailing and take it to the Clerk of Court’s office for filing.

If you do not get the return receipt card (green card) back, you may try to re-send all the
documents again by Certified Mail, Restricted Delivery, Refurn Receipt Requested. If
you do not believe this would be successful, you may have to call your local Sheriff’s
office to serve the papers on the Defendant or DSS. There may be a fee for this service
by the Sheriff’s office. .If your Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis was granted,
provide a copy to the Sheriff’s office.
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3) SHERIFE’S OFFICE

Contact the Sheriff’s office in the county where the Defendant lives or works to serve the
papers. When the Sheriff serves the papers, ask the office to complete the bottom half of
the Affidavit of Service (SCCA 402F) form before a notary, have the form notarized, and
return the form to you. The Sheriff’s Office may have its own Affidavit of Service Form
and their form may be used. File the notarized Affidavit of Service with the Clerk of
Court.

4) PRIVATE PROCESS SERVER

Private process servers are listed in the telephone book. There will be a fee for this

service. It is usually more expensive than the Sheriff’s Office. When they have served
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the papers, they will give you the completed Affidavit of Service you gave them or their
own form. File the notarized Affidavit of Service with the Clerk of Court.

5) SERVICE BY COMMERCIAL DELIVERY SERVICE

You may use a commercial delivery company like UPS or FedEx to serve the summons
and complaint. The company must be one approved by the Internal Revenue Service.
You may check to be sure the company is approved at the IRS website:

http://'www.irs.gov/uac/Private-Delivery-Services-(PDS).

The delivery company will give you a delivery record showing the date, time and place of
delivery, the name of the person served and an original signature or electronic image of
the signature of the person served. If someone other than the defendant signs for the
documents, you will not be able to proceed if the defendant does not appear. If delivery

is refused or returned undelivered, you must try another method.

You must provide an affidavit showing the documents served with the delivery record

attached. This affidavit and delivery record must be filed with the clerk of court.

If the Defendant is not served properly, you will not be able to proceed and cannot

get a hearing scheduled.

SECTION 3 - REQUEST FOR HEARING

Complete the Request for Hearing for Child Support Modification (SCCA 400.26 SRL-CSM).
Print your name in the space marked “Plaintiff * Print your address, telephone number, and
email address where requested. Complete the information for the Defendant or Attorney for
Defendant. Print any comments or issues that you would like to bring to the Court’s attention

and sign your name at the bottom of the form where it says “Plaintiff.”

Take the original and a copy of the Request for Hearing to file with the Clerk of Court.” The

Clerk will date stamp your copy and give it back to you for your records.
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The Clerk of Court will inform you of your hearing date by mailing you a Notice of Hearing,
The hearing date may be several months away. After you receive the Notice of Hearing from the
Court, you must send a copy of the notice of hearing to the Defendant or Defendant’s attorney.
If this is a DSS case, you must also send a copy of the Notice of Hearing to DSS. They must
receive the notice of hearing at least 10 days before the hearing. The Notice of Hearing needs to

be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested.

You will then need to complete the Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing) (SCCA
400.27 SRL-CSM) before a notary. This form indicates when you mailed the Notice of Hearing.
Do not sign this form until you are in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature
on the Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing).

If the envelope used to mail the Notice of Hearing to the Defendant or Defendant’s attorey is
returned from the U.S. Post Office, take the returned envelope to the hearing. It is only
necessary to show that the Notice of Hearing was mailed. You do not have to show that the

Defendant or Defendant’s attorney actually received the notice.

SECTION 4 - HEARING

To prepare for the hearing, complete the Order (Increase Child Support) (SCCA 400.34 SRL-
CSM). On the Order, print the date assigned for your hearing and the names and dates of birth of
the children.

On the day of your hearing, you should arrive at the courthouse at least thirty (30) minutes prior
to your scheduled time. Make sure to take copies of your documents with you to court. Dress
appropriately and turn off your cell phone. Appropriate dress includes suits, jackets, dresses,
dress slacks, and neatly tucked shirts. Casual clothing such as sweat clothes, tank tops, shorts,
and similar summer beachwear is not appropriate for the courtroom. Remove hats when entering
the courtroom, unless they are required for a medical condition. Most courts do not allow
children into the courtroom so make arrangements for a responsible adult to watch your children

while you are in court.
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When it is time for your hearing, the Bailiff or Deputy will call your name. At that time, enter the
courtroom, sit, and wait for the judge to ask you if you are ready. When the judge asks if you are
ready, please stand if you are able to and say: “Your honor, may I begin.” The judge will tell
you to proceed or wait. Before you begin, you will be sworn in. If the Judge indicates you
should come forward, take your paperwork with you and sit in the witness chair. If the Judge

allows you to stay at the table in front of the Judge, you should stand if you are able,

You are required to present your case for child support increase.

This packet has a Script for Plaintiff’s Testimony (SCCA 400.33 SRI.-CSM) that you should use
at the hearing. Review and complete the script beere your hearing. At the hearing, you will
read the script as your testimony. Make sure you tell the judge everything that shows that you
have had a substantial change of circumstances and why you should be given an increase. Your
testimony should be specific to the child(ren) under the support order. If you have any papers
that you want the Judge to see, hand the original and a copy to the Deputy Sheriff who will give
the original to the Judge and a copy to the Defendant. Be sure to keep another copy for yourself

in case the Judge or the Defendant asks you questions about it.

The judge may interrupt you from time to time to ask a question. Listen carefully and answer the
questions the judge asks you. When you are finished testifying, the judge will indicate that you
may leave the witness stand or sit down at the table. The defendant will have a chance to testify
as well. At the end of the hearing, the judge will tell you the decision. You may ask the Deputy
to hand the judge the order to finish completing.

The judge will sign the Order (Increase Child Support). Make sure the Order (Increase Child
Support) is filed with the Clerk of Court. The Clerk of Court will provide you and the Defendant
or the Defendant’s attorney with a copy of the Order (Increase Child Support).

The increase is not final until the Order has been signed by the judge and filed
with the Clerk of Court.
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Plaintiff Child Support Increase Checklist

- Complete the forms in Section 1 of this packet -- Family Court Coversheet, Summons, Complaint,
Motion and Affidavit to Proceed /n Forma Pauperis (if using), Financial Declaration Form, and Case
Party Information Sheet.

- File the forms with the Clerk of Court in the appropriate county and pay the $150 filing fee unless the In
Forma Pauperis has been granted.

- Serve copies of the five forms on the Defendant in one of four ways: (1) Acceptance of Service; (2)U. 8.
Mail; (3) Sheriff’s office; or (4) Private process server.

- Complete the Request for Hearing and file it with the Proof of Service with the Clerk of Court.

- Once you receive the Notice of Hearing from the Clerk of Court, mail a copy of this Notice to the
Defendant, Defendant’s attorney, or the DSS Child Support Enforcement Division (if applicable) (at least
ten days before the hearing date). File the Affidavit of Mailing with the Clerk of Court.

- To prepare for your hearing, complete the Order (Increase Child Support).

- Onthe day of your hearing, you should arrive at least 30 minutes early and be sure to dress appropriately,
turn off your cell phone, and remove your hat. Do not bring your children.

- At the hearing you will testify using the Seript for Plaintiff’s Testimony.

- Thejudge will allow the custodial party to present his/her case, and you will have an opportunity to ask
questions.

- Atthe end of the hearing the judge should sign the Order (Increase Child Support).

- Be sure that the signed Order (Increase Child Support) is filed with the Clerk of Court’s office and you
receive a clocked copy for your files.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

) IN THE FAMILY COQURT
) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
Plaintiff, ) FAMILY COURT COVERSHEET
vs. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

NOTE: The coversheet and information contained herein neither replaces nor supplements the filing and service of pleadings or
other papers as required by law. This form is required for docketing purpeses for the Clerk of Court and must he signed and dated,
and filled out completely. A copy of this coversheet must be served on the defendant(s) along with the Summons and Complaint.

Submitted by: SCBar #
Address: Telephone #

Fax #
Email: Other:
DOCKETING INFORMATION

[ IThis case is subject to MEDIATION pursuant to the Family Court Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules.
[JThis case is exempt from ADR (certificate attached).

Nature of Action Codes
{Check One)
Marital Dissolution Support
03 Divarce (110) L] Child Support — Private (501)
] Anmuiment (120) [J Child Support — Administrative Process (502)

[ Separate Support and Maintenance (130) [ Chilg Support — Judicial Process (503)

[ Registration of Foreign Divorce Decree — without support/eustody (190) [T Registration of Foreign Order of Support (504)
Registration of Foreign Divorce Decree . with support/custody (191) {]UrFsa - Outgoing (505)

"] Marital Dissolution — Other (159) [J UIFSA — Incoming (506)

[ Modification of Child Support — Private (507)

[ Modification of Child Support — D3S (508)

{"T Modification of Alimony (525)

[ College Expenses {530)

[ Support — Other (599)

Abuse and Neglect
[] Abuse and Neglect — Child (210)
L] Abuse and Neglect — Adult (220)
[ Abuse and Neglect — Other (209)

Juvenile Delinquency Custody/Visttation
[ Truancy (311) [ Child Custody/Visitation (610)
] Incorrigible (312) [J Modification of Custody/Visitation (615)
[ Runaway (313) [J Temporary Custody ~ Nonparent (616)

Criminal Offense - Drug (315) [} Registration of Foreiga Chitd Custody Order (690)
{3 Criminal Offense — Against a Person (316) [ visitation Involvement Parenting (VIP) (D'SS only} 69
[ Criminal Offense — Property (317) £ Custody/Visitation — Other (699)
[J Criminal Offense - Public Order {318}
[ Crirninal Offense — Other (320

Miscellaneous Actions
[ Juvenile Delinquency ~ Other (3 99}

[} Name Change (710)
[T Comection/Birth Record (720
Protection from Domestic Abuse

[J Domestic Abuse — Intimate Partner (410

L] Domestic Abuse ~ Minor 420

[ Registration of ¥ oreign Order of Protection (490)
[} Domestic Abuse — Other (499)

Submitting Party Signature:

[ Judicial Bypass (730)
[ Adoption (740)
arF oreign Adoption (741)
L] Post Dissolution Eguiteble Distribution (750)
Paternity ~ Private (761)
[ Patemnity - DSS (7 62}
Termination of Parental Rights — Private (771)
'] Termination of Parental Rights — DSS (772}
] Miscellaneous Actions — Others (799)

Date:

Custodial Parent (if applicable):

Note: Frivolous civil proceedings are subject to sanctions pursuant to Rule 11, SCRCP, and the South Carolina Frivolous Civil Proceedings
Sanctions Act, S.C. Code Ann, §§ 15-36-10 et seq.
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Effective January 1, 2016, family court actions in all counties are subject to mediation. Under the provisions of the
Supreme Court’s Rules for Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), mediation is defined as an informal PIocess in
which a third-party mediator facilitates settlement discussions between parties. Any settlement is voluntary. In the
absence of settlement, the parties lose none of their rights to trial.

Also under the ADR Rules, the parties may agree on 2 mediator or the Clerk of Court will appoint a mediator from
the certified list. If the Clerk appoints a mediator from the list, the mediator will be certified by the Board of Arbitrator
and Mediator Certification and may be either a lawyer, a licensed mental health professional or any other individual
meeting the certification requirements.

Whether or not the mediator is a lawyer, if appointed by the court, the charge per hour is set at a specified amount
under the provisions of ADR Rule 9. Parties are responsible for payment of the mediator as set out in ADR Rule 9.

SUPREME COURT RULES REQUIRE MEDIATION OF ALL CONTESTED DOMESTIC RELATIONS
ACTIONS. IF THE DOCKETING INFORMATION ON PAGE 1 OF THIS COVERSHEET INDICATES THAT
THIS CASE IS SUBJECT TO MEDIATION YOU ARE NOTIFIED THAT MEDIATED SETTLEMENT
CONFERENCES ARE REQUIRED IN THIS CASE, AND THAT THE COURT-ANNEXED ADR RULES
SHALL APPLY TO ALL CASES IN WHICH MEDIATION IS REQUIRED. FOR ADDITIONAL
INFORMATION CONCERNING THE PROCESS AND TIME FRAMES, PLEASE CONSULT THE ADR
RULES. KEY SECTIONS OF THE RULES ARE IDENTIFIED BELOW.

CONTESTED ACTIONS INVOLVING CUSTODY AND VISITATION

Rule 3 Actions Subject to ADR

Rule 4(d)(1)(3)(4) &(5) Appointment of Mediator by Family Court
Rule 5(g) Scheduling in Family Court

Rule 6(g) Agreement in Family Court

Rule 7(f) Reporting Results of Conference
Rule 9 Compensation of Neutral

ALL OTHER CONTESTED ACTIONS

Rule 3 Actions Subject to ADR

Rule 4(d)(2)(3)(4) &(5) Appointment of Mediator by F amily Court
Rule 5(g) Scheduling in Family Court

Rule 6(g) Agreement in Family Court

Rule 7(f Reporting Results of Conference
Rule 9 Compensation of Neutral

Indigent Cases: Where a mediator has been appointed, a party may move before the Chief Judge for
Administrative Purposes to be exempted from payment of neutral fees and expenses based upon indigency.
Determination of indigency shall be in the sole discretion of the Chief Judge for Administrative Purposes.

Application of a party to be exempt from payment of neutral fees due to indigency should be filed prior to the
scheduling of the ADR conference.

Please Note: Attendance at mediated settlement conferences is mandatory. You must comply with the

Supreme Court rules regarding court-ordered mediation. Failure to do so may affect your case and may
result in sanctions.

Note: Frivolous civil proceedings are subject to sanctions pursuant to Rule 11, SCRCP, and the South Carolina Frivolous Civil Proceedings
Sanctions Act, 5.C. Code Ann. §§ 15-36-10 et seq.

SCCA 467 (4/2021)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

) IN THE FAMILY COURT

) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)

) SUMMONS
Plaintiff, )
VS. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

TO THE DEFENDANT ABOVE-NAMED:

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED and notified that an action has been filed against
you in this court. Thirty (30) days after the day you receive this Summons and Complaint, you
must respond in writing to this Complaint by filing an Answer with this court. You must also
serve a copy of your Answer to this Complaint upon the Plaintiff or the Plaintiff’s Attorney at
the address shown below. If you fail to answer the Complaint, judgment by default could be

rendered against you for the relief requested in the Complaint.

Date: ,20

Plaintiff/ Attorney for Plaintiff Signature
, S.C.

Print Name:
Address:

SCCA 401F (12/2009)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COQURT
) _ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) COMPLAINT
Plaintiff, ) {(Increase Child Support)
V8. )
)
Defendant. Y Docket No,
Plaintiff would respectfully show that:
1. Plaintiff lives at in County, .
2. Defendant lives at n County,
Plamtiff is custodian for the following child(ren):
Child's Full Name Date of Birth Child's Full Name Date of Birth
1 4.
2.
3. 6.

4. Defendant does not provide fair and reasonable support according to his/her means and capacity and
that he/she is an able-bodied person capable of earning a livelihood.

5. Plaintiff has a substantial change of circumstances. The current ongoing child support obligation of
$ per is not reasonable because

The Plaintiff requests an order (check all that apply):
["] Requiring Defendant to pay an increased amount of child support for the above-named child(ren)}.

[] Requiring [7] Plaintiff [ ] Defendant to provide and maintain health insurance for the child(ren) until further
order of the court.

[ Requiring Plaintiff and Defendant to share the cost of unreimbursed health expenses in accordance with the
Child Support Guidelines.

[ Other:
And for such other and further relief as may be reasonable, just, and proper.

Date: , 20

. 8.C. Plaintiff's Signature
Plaintiff's Name: Confact Number
Address:

DIRECTIONS TO PLAINTIFF: Defendant should be served with a copy of the Family Court Coversheet, this Complaint, Summons and
Financial Declaration.

DIRECTIONS TO PLAINTIFF AND DEFENDANT: A current Financial Declaration, on a form prescribed by the Supreme Court, must
be filed with the Clerk of Court and served upon the opposing party on or before the first hearing, or no later than 45 days after the
Complaint is served, whichever occurs first.

DIRECTIONS TO DEFENDANT: For information on how to respond to this Complaint, you may visit: htip://www.sccourts.ore,

SCCA 400.31 SRL-CSM (8/2012)




STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

Plaintiff,
vs.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

Defendant,

IN THE FAMILY COURT OF THE
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

FINANCIAL DECLARATION
OF

-Docket No.

HUSBAND/FATHER

WIFE/MOTHER

Address

Address

Age

Age

Occupation

Occupation

Employer

Employer

Employer
Address

Employer
Address

Gross Monthly Income

. Husband/Father Wife/Mother

Principal Earnings from Employment |

Overtime, Tips, Commission, Bonuses *

Pensions, Retirement, and Annuities income

Additional Employment income

Social Security Benefits (SSA) and VA Benefits

Disability and Worker’s Compensation Benefits

Unenployment and AFDC

Spousal or Child Support (from other marriage/relationship)

Dividends, Interest, Trust Income, and Capital Gains

Rental Income and Business Profits

Other (Specify):

TOTAX GROSS MONTHLY INCOME

Payrolt Deductions from Monthly Income

Hushand/Father Wife/Mother

Federal Income Tax °

State Income Tax

Social Security and Medicare Tax (FICA)

Self-Employment Tax

Health and Dental Insurance (Adult)

Health and Dental Insurance {Child)

Union Dues

Voluntary Retirement Contribution (401(k), 457, IRA)

Mandatory Retirement Contribution

Savings Plan

Other (Specify):

TOTAL MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS

NET MONTHLY INCOME *

SCCA 430 (12/2009)
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Estimate monthly expenses: (Specify which party is the custodial parent and list name and relationship of all members of household

whose expenses are included.

MONTHLY EXPENSES °

Husband/Father

Wife/Mother

Residential Rent Payment

Note or Mortgape Payment on Residence(s)

Food and Household Supplies ®

Utilities, Water, and Garbage Collection

Telephone and Cellular Phone

Medical, Dental and Disability Insurance Preminms {not

deducted from paycheck)

Life Insurance Premiums (not deducted from paycheck)

Child Support (from other relationship)

Work Related Day Care

Spousal Support (from prior marriage)

Aute Payment

Auto Insurance, taxes, gasoline, and maintenance ©

Real Property Tax on Residence(s)

Maintenance for household *

Adult Clothing

Children’s Clothing *

Cable Television, Satellite, and Internet/Online Services

Laundry and Dry Cleaning

Medical and Dental Expenses (not paid by insurance)

Prescriptions, Glasses, and Contacts (not paid by insurance)

Children’s incidental expenses !

School lunches, supplies, field trips, and fees

Entertainment

Adult Incidental expenses

All Installment payments =

Other (Specify):
TOTAL, MONTHLY EXPENSES
Installment Loan Payments Section
Creditor For Monthly Payment Balance Owed by ¢

SCCA 430 (12/2009)
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Other Debts and Obligations not payable in monthly installments

Creditor : For Date Payable Balance Owed by '
Are you currently in Bankruptey? [ ] YES [ JNO ‘
Are any obligations listed above, including mortgage and note payments, in arrears? CJves []NO
If yes, please list the obligations in arrears.
All Marital Property Known to Parties
Assets Husband/Father Wife/Mother Joint

Cash and Money in Checking Account(s}

Money in Savings Account(s), Credit Union, Money Market,
or Cert. of Dep.

Value of Voluntary Retirement Accouni(s)

Value of Pension Account

Value of Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual
Funds

Value of Privately Hold Stocks and Other Business

Value of Real Estate — Net of Mortgage Balances

Value of All Other Property’’

TOTAL ASSETS
Any Non Marital Preperty Known to Parties
Description of Asset Title Owner Date of Seurce of Funds to Estimate Present market
Acquisition Aequirer Value

If total assets are less than $300,000.00, sign and have notarized.

If total assets are greater than $300,000.00, itemize assets by completmg additional sections below and

sign and have notarized.

Financial Acce}unts Section®

Owner Name of Institution

Type of Account

Balance

SCCA 430 (12/2009)
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Voluntary Retirement Accounts and Pension Accounts Section

Type of Account Value

Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section (Non-Retirement)'’

Name of Company Number of Shares/Type of Account Value

Real Estate Section””

Owner ’ Address Value Morigage Balance Moertgage Equity
Other Property Section”
Owner Description of Asset Value Loan Balance Equity
Signature
Sworn to before me this day
of , 20
(SEAL)

Notary Public for Scuth Carolina
My commission expires:

Custodial Parent (if applicable):

SCCA 430 (12/2009) 40f5



1. A recent paystub should be attached to the Financial Declaration. To compute Principal Earnings from Employment, first
determine whether you are paid semi-monthly, biweekly, or weekly. If you are paid semi-monthly, multipty the gross
amount of your pay check by two. If you are paid biweekly, multiply the gross amount of your pay check by 26 and then
divide by 12. If you are paid weekly, multiply the amount of your paycheck by 52 and divide by twelve. Round fo the
nearest whole dollar. ‘

2. To compute Overtime, Tips, Commission, and/or Bonuses, take an average of your monthly earnings from overtime, tips,
commission, bonuses, etc. from the past three years or the length of employment if employed less than three years (including
-this year). :

3. To compute State, Local, and Social Security Tax deductions, use the same formula used to compute principal earnings in
endnote 1 above, or consult or have your attorney consult an accountant.

4. Net monthly Income is equal to Total Gross Monthly Income minus Total Monthly Deductions.

5. Do not include any expense in the Monthly Expenses section that has already been included in the Deductions from Gross
Meonthly Income on page one of the Declaration. ‘

6. Food Expense is to include the cost of groceries, toiletries, cleaning supplies, and casual eating out.
7. Auto Expenses are to include gasoline, oil changes, tune-ups, tire replacement, maintenance, and related items.

8. Maintenance for Household is to include appliance and household repairs, landscaping, house cleaning, pest control, pool
service, alarm service, and other related items.

9. Clothing Expense is to include shoes and clothing purchases, clothing repair and alterations, and related items.

10. Laundry Expense is to include the cost of laundry service, dry cleaning, and related items.

11. Children’s Incidental Expenses are to include allowance, summer camp, baby sitters, lessons, activities, participatory sports
and related items. .

El

12. Scheol Expense is to include tuition, supplies, field trips, ciues, tutors, locker rentals, school lunches, and other related items.

|
13. Entertainment is to include movies, theater, vacations, sporting events, compact dises, digital video digcs, and related iteths.

14. Adult Incidental Expenses are to include cosmetics, hair and nail care, books, magazines, newspapers, business dues,
memberships, pets, charity, religious dues or tithes, gifts, bank charges, hobbies, and related items.

£5. All Installment Loan Payments is the total amount itemized in Installment Loan Payments Section, which should include all
loan payments not already listed as a monthly expense. Examples: home equity loan, credit cards, etc.

16. Indicate which spouse legally owes the payment (husband, wife, or joint).

17. Other property is to include automobiles (minus loan balance), boats (minus foan balance), fumiture, furnishings, china,
silver, jewelry, collectibles, and other personal property.

18. Itemize Financial Acconnts such as checking, savings, credit union, money market, or certificate of deposit accounts in the
Financial Accounts Section.

19. Itemize Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Stock Opﬁons and Mutual Funds (excluding retirement accounts) in the
Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section.

20. Ttemize each parcel of Real Estate in the Real Estate Sectioh.

SCCA 430 (12/2009) ' 50f5



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

IN THE FAMILY COURT
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

CASE PARTY INFORMATION SHEET

VS,

Plaintiff,

Defendant. )  Docket No.

THE CASE PARTY INFORMATION SHEET IS NOT A MANDATORY FORM, BUT
USE OF THE FORM AIDS IN THE ENFORCEMENT OF COURT-ORDERED

SUPPORT OBLIGATIONS.
Name: Photo:
Gender: DOB:
Race: SSN:
Height: DL No.:
Weight
Eye Color: Distinguishing Characteristics:
Hair Color:
Physical Address:
Mailing Address (if different):
County and State: Home Phone Number: Mobile Number:

Closest Relatives Name(s), Relationship, and Address:

Other Identifying/Locate Information (Use Back If Necessary):

Vehicle Make, Model, Color, Tag#:

Specific directions to case party’s home (include road, street names, and landmarks). Designate case
party’s home as an apartment, house, duplex, or trailer and give description of it:

Description of Home:

; Directions to Address

Last Known Employer:
Employer’s Complete Address:

Telephone No.:

Shift or Hours Worked:

Criminal Record: [_JYes [ INo

Date of Arrest;

Place:

Offense:

Place of Incarceration:

SCCA 453 (12/2009)




SOUTH CAROLIRA

= JUDICIAL BRANCH

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA )
- )
COUNTY OF )
) i: JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
)
Plaintiff, ) MOTION AND AFFIDAVIT TO
) PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS
Vs, )
)
)
Defendant. ) FILE NO,

Motion for Waiver of Costs and Fees

I, : ., @m unable to pay the costs of filing and service in the

present matter and request that the court waive the costs and aillow me to proceed in

forma pauperis.

Plaintiff submits the followin
motion,

Address

Age

Occupation
Employer
Employer Address

g financial declaration and affidavit in support of the above

Gross Monthly Income Amount:
1) Earnings (attach recent pay stubs) S

2) Overtime

3) Social Security, VA Benefits,
Workers’ Comp or Disability (SSI)

4) Unemployment

5) Alimony / Child Support (receiving)

6) Other (Specify)

Total Amount (Add fines 1 -6):

Assets
1) Cash

Amount:

2) Money in Bank Accounts (Checking & Savings)
3) IRA/401k/ Pensions

4) Other (Specify)

Total Amount (Add fines 1-4):

SCCA 405 (Revised 06/2024)
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ﬁm SOUTH CAROLINA

L

%E JUDICIAL BRANCH

N

Monthiy Expenses Amount:
1)  Rent/ Mortgage o
2)  Utilities ,
3)  Cell phone / Phone -
4)  Food ' .
5)  Child Support / Alimony (Paying) ) L
6) Child Care o

7)  Car Payment
8) Car Operating Expenses
(Insurance, gas, maintenance)

9) Clothing ' PRI
10) Cable / Satellite TV / Internet .
11) Medical / Dental / Vision Expenses L
12) Medical / Dental / Vision Insurance R

13) Credit Card / Loan Payments
14) Other (Specify) o
Total Amount (Add lines 1-14): L

Sworn fo before me this

Of __ =+ 20 Signature of Plaintiff

Notary Public for South Carolina
My Commission Expires:

SCCA 405 (Revised 06/2024) Page 2 of 2



SOUTH CAROLINA

' JUDICIAL BRANCH
STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

IN THE .

COUNTY OF ..noromi
. JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

ORDER
IN FORMA PAUPERIS

Plaintiff,

VS,

M Mot N M N et

Defendant. FILE NOQ.

ORDER
[] Leave is Granted to proceed in forma pauperis without payment of the filing fee.
[] Leave is Granted to proceed in forma pauperis without payment of the service cost.

[] Leave is Denied to 'proceed in forma pauperis pursuant to Ex parte Martin, 321 S.C.
533, 471 S.E.2d 134 (1995).

] Leave is Denied to proceed in forma pauperis. Plaintiff has failed to establish
compliance with the Poverty Guidelines pursuant to Rule 3(b)(1), SCRCP.

If denied, this case will be dismissed without further order of the court if the filing
fee and associated costs are not paid on or before - - e
20

Dated: - . , 20

Presiding Judge, [ .- Judicial Circuit

, South Carolina

NOTICE TO PLAINTIFF: The Court may assess costs against either party at hearing.

SCCA 405.1 (Revised 06/2024) Page 1 of 1



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
COUNTY OF ) ____ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
)
)
Plaintiff, )} ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE
) (Child Support Modification)
vs. )}
)
)
Defendant. )} Docket No.

Pursuant to Rule 4(3), SCRCP, I certify that I received a copy of the foiloWing:
[} Family Court Coversheet, Summons and Complaint and Financial Declaration
[] oOfther:

inthis actionon{ / / ) atthe following location:

Date: , 20

Defendant's Signature

Printed Name of Defendant

Home/Mailing Address

City, State, Zip

Telephone No.

SCCA 400.22 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) _____ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
) BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Child Support Modification)
VS. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

Personally appeared the Plaintiff who states that (s)he served the Defendant with a copy
of the Family Court Coversheet, Certificate of Exemption, Summons, Complaint, and Financial
Declaration

by certified mail, restricted delivery, return receipt requested (receipt attached) in
the United States Mail, with proper postage attached

by commercial delivery service pursuant to Rule 4(d}(9), SCRCP with delivery
record attached;

on( / /  )addressed as follows:

Sworn to before me this
' day of , 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Plaintiff

My Commission expires:

SCCA 400.23 SRI-CSM (5/2013)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
Plaintiff, )
vs. )
)
)

Defendant. } Docket No.

Personally appeared before me, the affiant, who being duly sworn, states that ({_|he/[_|she)
served the in this action on

(Party Served).

They were served in the following manner: (Check one)

[ 1 | Personally served on (Party Served).

| | | Served at their residence by leaving the documents with

(Name of person served) the
(Relationship of the person served) of the person served, a person of age and discretion.

L] the of
(Name of person served) (Title) (Corporation name)
Service was completed at this address: |
(Address)
(City, State) (County)
on , 20 at (JaM/[(p.M)
(Date) (Time)

[C]  Unable to locate and serve after diligent efforts to do so. The process is returned
unexecuted. The following service attempts were made:

Affiant is not a party to this action, is not less than eighteen (18) years of age and has no

interest in or connection to this action.

Custodial Parent (if applicable) :

Sworn to before me this
day of , 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Affiant Signature

My Commission expires:

SCCA 402 (12/2009)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
) REQUEST FOR HEARING
Plaintiff, ) (Child Support Modification}
v§. )
)
)
Defendant. } Docket No.
Plaintiff or Attorney for Plaintiff:
Address:
Home Phone: Cell Phone:
Other Contact Phone: Email:
Defendant or Attorney for Defendant:
Address:
Home Phone: Cell Phone:
Other Contact Phone: Email:

Contested: [ ] Yes [ | No Child Custody Issue: [ ]Yes [ JNo

Amount of Time Requested: 30 minutes

Dates / Times the Plaintiff and/or Defendant is/are UNAVAILABLE (exclude weekends and holidays): See
Attached list(s)

Hearing Requested By: [] PLAINTIFF [[] DEFENDANT
COMMENTS /ISSUES:
Date: , 20
, S.C. Signature

**%%Section below to be completed by Clerk of Court. ****
The Final Hearing in this matter is scheduled for day of 20 , at

_: Mam/[Jpm., Courtroom , before the Honorable

SCCA 400.26 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) _____ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
} AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
} BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Notice of Hearing)
V8. }
)
)
Defendant. } Docket No.

Personally appeared the Plaintiff who states that (s)he served the Defendant with a copy
of the Notice of Hearing by certified mail, restricted delivery, return receipt requested (receipt
attached) in the United States Mail, with proper postage attached, on{ / / ) addressed

as follows:

Sworn to before me this
day of , 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Plaintiff

My Commission expires:

SCCA 400.27 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



Script for Plaintiff’s Testimony
Child Support Increase

Before you present your case, you will be sworn in. If the Judge indicates you should come
forward, you should take a seat in the witness chair. The witness chair is usually beside the
Judge. Ifthe Judge allows you to stay at the table in front of the Judge, you should stand.

In accordance with the SC Rules of Civil Procedure, if you have any papers that you want the
Judge to see, bring three copies to the hearing. Hand the original and a copy to the Deputy
Sheriff who will give the original to the Judge and a copy to the Defendant. Be sure to keep
another copy for yourself in case the Judge or the Defendant asks you questions about it.

After you are sworn in, you should ask

“Your Honor, may I begin?”

My name is

My address is:

in County, (State)

The Defendant lives in County, (State)

This court has jurisdiction over this case because of the prior child support order.

Defendant is ordered to pay child support of per for

(name of child(ren) in this

case).

My income per month is: . Imake
per hour and I work hours each week.

I have other income from . That income 1is

per month.

I pay day care of per week.

1 pay health insurance of per for the child(ren).

I have filed a Financial Declaration with the Court that I ask the Court to review.
My circumstances have substantially changed. Ineed an increase in child support
because

Your honor, that is all of my testimony. I will be happy to answer any questions that you
or the Defendant may have.

Listen carefully to any questions that you are asked and answer truthfully.

SCCA 400.33 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) _ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) ORDER
Plaintiff, ) (Increase Child Support)
vs. )
)
Defendant. )  Docket No.
Plaintiff 'sAttorney: Hearing Date:
Defendant's Attomney: Tudge:
Guardian ad Litem: Court Reporter:

At the hearing, the Court determined it has jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties in this action.
The Court considered facts and circumstances that may include both parties' incomes, abilities to pay, education,
expenses and assets, needs of the children, and standard of living. Based upon the evidence, the Court makes the
following findings of fact:

Defendant pays child support to the Plaintiff for the minor child(ren) whose names and dates of birth are:

Child's Full Name Date of Birth Child's Full Name Date of Birth
1. 4.
2. 5.
3. 6.

A significant change in circumstances [_Jhas [} has not occurred, the current ongoing child support
obligation [ ] is [ ] is not reasonable, and the child support obligation [ should be [_] should not be increased.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED:
I The petition for child support increase is DENIED. The existing Order remains in effect.

O The petition for child support increase is GRANTED. Defendant owes a child support arrearage of
$ . The new child support payments are § , plus § towards the
arrearage, plus 5% court costs, for a total payment of $ per beginning

. The Child Support Guidelines Worksheet is attached.

shall provide and maintain health insurance for the child(ren).

Insurance is not reasonably available.

0Oog

shall pay % of all unreimbursed health expenses in excess of $250
per year per child. The custodian shall assume the costs of the unreimbursed medical expenses up to $§250
per year per child.

Each child support payment shall be paid through the Clerk of Court and shall be paid until further order of the court.

This case shall be combined with the prior order dated with the docket number
] Other:
Date: , 20

, S.C. Family Court Judge

SCCA 400.34 SRL-CSM (8/2012)




STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) __ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
) SUPPORT INFORMATION SHEET
Plaintiff, )
VE. )
)
)
Defendant. )  Docket No.
Check appropriate box:
[[] No spousal or child support ordered. (No other items should be completed.)
[] If support is ordered to be paid directly or through the Court, you must complete BOTH pages (as
applicable).
Obligation Type : Child Support | Spousal Support Other:
Amount $ $ $
Collection Costs (5%) $ $ $
Payment Frequency
Payment Start Date
Weekly L] 5 _-lj._
Bi-weekly ] L L]
Monthly ] L] L]
Semi-monthly (1st & 16th) ] ] L]
Semi-monthly (15th & 30th) ] ] [ ]
Total Arrearage Amount $ $ $
Wage Withholding
Required by S.C. Code Ann. §63-17- Ll L] ]
1420
Ordered ] L] L]
Not Ordered L] L] L

Name of Custodial Parent (if applicable):

OBLIGOR’S DESIGNATION STATEMENT: PAYMENT OF COURT COSTS

I acknowledge that S.C. Code Ann. § 63-3-370 requires that I pay and the Family Court has ordered that { pay
court costs in an amount equal to five (5) percent of any support payment made through the Clerk of Court or the
centralized wage withholding system. T owe and will pay these costs in addition to my support obligation.

To mest my duty to pay court costs, 1 designate an amount equal to five (5) percent of the support payment 1
make to be applied and distributed in payment of court costs, not support.

I acknowledge the Clerk of Court or, if payments are withheld from my income, the centralized wage
withholding system to deduct the fee from every payment made by me or on my behalf.

I acknowledge that should I not pay the full amount due, that an arrearage will accrue and that the Clerk of Court
may take enforcement action against me for failure to pay all amounts ordered by the Court.

If an amendment to the law changes the amoumnt of court costs, this designation authorizes dednction of court
collection costs in the amount established by law.

Date: , 20

Signature of Person paying Support**

** NOTE TO CLERK: FILE AND PROCESS THIS FORM EVEN IF SIGNATURE OF PERSON PAYING
SUPPORT IS NOT PROVIDED. **

SCCA 446 (4/2010)



IDENTIFYING INFORMATION ON THIS PAGE

A. OBLIGEE/PAID TQ:

Name:
Address:
City: State: Zip:
Email Address: Phone:
SSN: Gender: Race: Height: _  Weight:_
Date of Birth: Scars:
Driver’s License Number: Driver’s License Issuing State:
Employer:
Employer Address:
B. OBLIGOR/PAID BY:
Name:
Address:
City: State: Zip:
Email Address: Phone:
SSN: Gender: Race: Height: _  Weight:
Date of Birth: Scars:
Driver’s License Number: Driver’s License Issuing State:
Employer:
Employer Address:
C. CHILDREN
CHILDREN’S NAMES DATE OF BIRTH SSN

i.

2.

3.

4,

5.

6.

PREPARED BY TITLE DATE

SCCA 446 (4/2010)




| INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
SELF-REPRESENTED LITIGANT CHILD SUPPORT
INCREASE PACKET

DEFENDANT

The Plaintiff is the person who is trying to increase the child support. The Plaintiff is the person
who wants things to change and who has filed this case. The Defendant is the person who is
being sued. The instructions in this packet are for the Defendant.

WARNING: You are strongly encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney before filing
any legal matter. This packet is designed to provide information and forms to people who are
representing themselves in court. If you proceed without an attorney, it may negatively affect
your legal rights. If you are unsure whether to proceed, or have questions about these forms or
your legal rights, consult an attorney. Please note that clerks of court, court staff, and judges
cannot give you legal advice.

DISCLAIMER: The information in this packet is not legal advice and cannot replace the
advice of competent legal counsel licensed in your state. Child support laws vary from state to
state and the information contained in this packet is specific to South Carolina. Please note that
the information contained in this packet is subject to change and make sure that you have the
most current version of this packet before filing.

PART 1: YOUR ROLE AS A DEFENDANT

The following instructions will help you file an Answer for a child support increase in South
Carolina pro se, or without an attorney. Pro se is a Latin term meaning “in person” or “on one’s
own behalf.” As the courts see more people representing themselves in court, you may also hear
the term self-represented litigant instead of pro se. While the self-represented litigant may not
incur the attorney expense, the self-represented litigant does not have the expert guidance that an

attorney can provide.

If you do not know an attorney who can assist you, you may call the South Carolina Bar’s
Lawyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a Family Law attorney in your county.
Members of the South Carolina Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service have been in practice for more
than 3 years, are in good standing, have provided proof of malpractice insurance, and have

agreed to provide a 30 minute consultation for no more than $50. If you believe you qualify for
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South Carolina Legal Services, you may contact their Legal Aid Telephone Intake Service
(LATIS) at 1-888-346-5592. Please note that to qualify for SCLS, your income must not be
more than 125% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines.

The custodial party who is the Plaintiff in this case has filed for an increase in child support
payments. You will be served these documents in one of three ways:
e By Certified U.S. Mail, Return Receipt Requested, Restricted Delivery; or
e By receiving the Summons and Complaint from the custodial party and voluntarily
signing an Acceptance of Service; or

e By alaw enforcement officer or private process server.

You must file an Answer within 30 days after you receive a Summons and

- Complaint. You may want to talk to an attorney about your options. If you
do not know an attorney who can assist you, you may call the South Carelina
Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a Family Law

attorney in your county.

PART 2: COMPLETING YOUR PAPERWORK

The next step is to study all of the forms listed below. The name of each form can be found in
the upper right hand comer and the form number in the bottom left hand corner.
The following forms are included in this packet:

1. Defendant’s Answer (SCCA 400.32 SRL-CSM)

2. Financial Declaration Form (SCCA 430)

3. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Answer) (SCCA 400.25 SRL-CSM)

Read all the documents carefully. If you are willing to accept service, complete the Acceptance
of Service form and return it to the Plaintiff. Next, read the Complaint carefully and complete
the Answer to the best of your abilities. At the end of the Answer there is a space where you can
ask the Court for additional relief. You may leave this blank. If you want to ask for a decrease
instead of an increase, you can use these lines to ask this. You will have to prove that there
should be a decrease and not an increase. Before you ask for a decrease, you should check the

child support guidelines. Child support is calculated by using the South Carolina Child Support
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Guidelines. Go to the South Carolina Department of Social Services website and complete the

child support calculator. The DSS website is http://www.state.sc.us/dss/csed/calculator.htm.

The results of the child support calculator do not guarantee that a Family Court
Judge will decrease your child support amount.

If you get a higher support amount when using the calculator, you may decide not to file for a

decrease in your support amount.

The judge may increase the child support amount if the results of the child

support calculator show that there should be an increase instead of a decrease.

Please pay special attention to the Financial Declaration Form. This form asks questions about
the finances of both you and the Plaintiff. Fill out the sections of the form that apply to you.
You must take the Financial Declaration Form to a notary public before you sign it. After the

Answer and Financial Declaration Form are completed, make two copies of each form.

File the Answer and Financial Declaration Form with the same Clerk of Court’s office where the
Complaint was filed. Take the original and the copies to that Clerk of Court’s office. Ask the
Clerk to stamp both the originals and copies of the forms. The Clerk will keep the original forms

and will return two stamped copies of each form to you.

Mail a stamped copy of both the Answer and Financial Declaration Form along with the
Affidavit of Mailing (Answer) to the Plaintiff or to the Plaintiff’s attorney by first class mail.
Keep the other stamped copies for your files.

PART 3: THE HEARING
The Plaintiff or the Plaintiff’s attorney will mail you a Notice of Hearing, which will give you the

date and time of your hearing. On the day of your hearing, you should arrive at the courthouse at
least thirty (30) minutes prior to your scheduled time and bring a copy of your paperwork. Dress
appropriately and turn off your cell phone. Appropriate dress includes suits, jackets, dresses,

or dress slacks. Males should tuck their shirts into their pants. Casual clothing such as sweat
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clothes, tank tops, shorts, and similar summer beach wear is not appropriate for the courtroom.
Remove hats when entering the courtroom, unless they are required for a medical condition.
Most courts do not allow children into the courtroom so make arrangements for a responsible

adult to watch your children while you are in court.

The Plaintiff will present his/her case first. You will have the opportunity to ask the Plaintiff and
any witnesses questions. After the Plaintiff and witnesses have testified, you will be given an
opportunity to testify and present witnesses for your case. If you completed the Counterclaim
section of the Answer and asked for something else, you must prove that your request should be
granted. The judge may interrupt you from time to time to ask you a question. Listen carefully,
and answer the questions the judge asks you. If you have any papers that you want the Judge to
see, hand the original and a copy to the Deputy Sheriff who will give the original to the Judge
and a copy to the Plaintiff. After the hearing, the judge will sign the order. The Clerk of Court
will provide you and the Plaintiff or the Plaintiff’s attorney with a copy of the order.

Defendant Child Support Increase Checklist

Once you are served with a Summons and Complaint for Child Support Increase, complete the
Answer. Also, complete the section of the Financial Declaration Form that applies to you and have
the form notarized.

File the completed Answer and Financia] Declaration Form with the Clerk of Court’s office within
30 days after service.

Mail a stamped copy of the Answer and Financial Declaration Form along with the Affidavit of
Mailing (Answer) to Plaintiff or Plaintiff’s attorney within 30 days after service.

The Plaintiff or Plaintiff’s attorney will then mail you a Notice of Hearing, which will give you the
date and time of your divorce hearing.

Arrive on the day of your hearing at least 30 minutes early and be sure to dress appropriately, tun
off your cell phone, remove your hat, and make sure you have appropriate childcare.

At the hearing the Plaintiff will testify first. The judge will give you the opportunity to ask the
Plaintiff questions and to present your case.

At the end of the hearing the judge should sign the order and you will receive a copy.

SCCA 400.3D SRL-CSM (8/2012) 4of4
©2012 South Carolina Judicial Department. Use of this packet is restricted to not-for-prefit-purposes.




STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

Plaintiff,

Vs,

Defendant.

St et Nt gt et Vgt gt el vt

IN THE FAMILY COURT OF THE
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

FINANCIAL DECLARATION

OF

'Docket No.

BUSBAND/FATHER

WIFE/MOTHER

Address

Address

Age

Age

Ocoupation

Occupation

Employer

Employer

Employer
Address

Employer
Address

Gross Monthly Income

Husband/Father

Wife/Mother

Principal Earnings from Employment *

Overtime, Tips, Commission, Bonuses 2

Pensions, Retirement, and Annuities income

Additionat Employment income

Social Security Benefits {8SA) and VA Benefits

Disability and Worker’s Compensation Benefits

Unemployment and AFDC

Spousal or Child Support (from other marriage/relationship)

Dividends, Interest, Trust Income, and Capital Gaing

Rental Income and Business Profits

Other (Specify):

TOTAL GROSS MONTHLY INCOME

Payroll Deductions from Monthly Income

¢ Husband/Father

Wife/Mother

Federal Income Tax >

State Income Tax

Social Security and Medicare Tax (FICA)

Self-Employment Tax

Health and Dental Insurance (Adult)

Health and Dental Insurance (Child)

Union Dues

Voluntary Retirement Contribution (401(k), 437, IRA)

Mandatory Retirement Contribution

Savings Plan

Other (Specify):

TOTAL MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS

NET MONTHLY INCOME *
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Estimate monthly expenses: (Specify which party is the custodial parent and list name and relationship of all members of household
whose expenses are included.

MONTHLY EXPENSES ° : Husband/Father Wife/Mother

Residential Rent Payment

Note or Mortgage Payment on Residence(s)

Food and Household Supplies ®

Utilities, Waier, and Garbage Collection

Telephone and Cellular Phone

Medical, Dental and Disability Insurance Premiums (not

deducted from paycheck)

Life Insurance Premiums (not deducted from paycheck)

Child Support (from other relationship)

Work Related Day Care

Spousal Support (from prior marriage)

Auto Payment

Auto Insurance, taxes, gasoline, and maintenance 7

Real Property Tax on Residence(s)

Maintenance for household ®

Adult Clothing

Children’s Clothing >

Cable Television, Satellite, and Internet/Online Services

Laundry and Dry Cleaning "

Medical and Dental Expenses (not paid by insurance)

Prescriptions, Glasses, and Contacts {not paid by insurance)

Children’s incidental expenses -

School anches, supplies, field trips, and fees '

Entertainment

Adult Incidental expenses '

All Installment payments

Other (Specify):

TOTAL MONTHLY EXPENSES

Installment Loan Payments Sectien

Crediter For Monthly Payment Balance Owed by '
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1
Other Debts and Obligations not payable in monthly installments

Creditor For Date Payable Balance Owed by '
Are you currently in Bankruptey? [] YES []NO ‘
Are any obligations listed above, including mortgage and note payments, in arrears? [_] YES [ NO
If yes, please list the obligations in arrears.
All Marital Property Known to Parties
Assets Husband/Father Wife/Mother Joint

Cash and Money in Checking Account(s)

Money in Savings Account{s), Credit Union, Money Market,

or Cert. of Dep.

Value of Voluntary Retirement Account(s)

Value of Pension Account

Value of Publicly Heid Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual
Funds

Value of Prlvatcly Held Stocks and Other Business

Value of Real Estate — Net of Mortgage Balances

Vatue of All Other Property’’

TOTAL ASSETS
Any Non Marital Property Known to Parties
Description of Asset Title Owner Date of Source of Funds fo Estimate Present market
Aequisition Acquirer Value

If total assets are less than $300,000.00, sign and have notarized.

If total assets are greater than $300,000.00, itemize assets by completing additional sections below and

sign and have notarized.

Financial Accpunts Section’®

Owner Name of Institution

Type of Account

Balance
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Voluntary Retirement Accounts and Pension Accounts Section

Type of Account

Value

Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section (Non-Retirement) "’

Name of Company Number of Shares/Type of Account Value
Real Estate Section™
Owner Address Value Mortgage Balance Mortgage Equity
Other Property Section”
Owner Description of Asset Value Loan Balance Equity
Signature
Sworn to before me this day
of , 20
(SEAL)
Notary Public for South Carolina '
My commission expires:
Custodial Parent (if applicable):
SCCA 430 (12/2009) 4 of 5




10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

i6.

17.

18

19

20

A recent paystub should be attached to the Financial Declaration. To compute Principal Earings from Employment, first
determine whether you are paid semi-monthly, biweekly, or weekly. If you are paid semi-monthly, multiply the gross
amount of your pay check by two. If you are paid biweekly, multiply the gross amount of your pay check by 26 and then

divide by 12. If you are paid weekly, multiply the amount of your paycheck by 52 and divide by twelve. Round to the
nearest whole dollar. :

To compute Overtime, Tips, Commission, and/or Bonuses, take an average of your monthly earnings from overtime, tips,

commission, bonuses, ete. from the past three years or the length of employment if employed less than three years {including
this year). '

To compute State, Local, and Social Security Tax deductions, use the same formula used to compute priticipal earnings in
endnote 1 above, or consult or have your attorney consult an accountant.

Net monthly Income is equal to Total Gross Monthly Income minus Total Monthly Deductions.

Do not include any expense in the Monthly Expenses section that has already been included in the Deductions from Gross
Monthly Income on page one of the Declaration.

Food Expense is to include the cost of groceries, toiletries, cleaning supplies, and casual eating out.
Auto Bxpenses are to include gasoline, oil changes, tune-ups, tire replacement, maintenance, and related items.

Maintenance for Household is to include appliance and household repairs, landscaping, house éleaning, pest control, pool
service, alarm service, and other related ftems.

Clothing Expense is to include shoes and clothing purchases, clothing repair and alterations, and related items.
Laundry Expense is to include the cost of laundry service, dry cleaning, and related items.

Children’s Incidental Expenses are to include allowance, summer camp, baby sitters, lessons, activities, participatory sports,
and related items. ‘

School Expense is to include tuition, supplies, field trips, dues, tutors, locker rentals, school hnches, and other related items.
Entertainment is to include movies, theater, vacations, sporting events, compact discs, digital video discs, and related items.

Adult Incidental Expenses are to include cosmetics, hair and nail care, books, magazines, newspapers, business dues,
memberships, pets, charity, religious dues or tithes, gifis, bank charges, hobbies, and related items.

All Installment Loan Payments is the total amount itemized in Installment Loan Payments Section, which should include all
loan payments not already listed as a monthly expense. Examples: home equity loan, credit cards, etc.

Indicate which spouse legally owes the payment (husband, wife, or joint).

Other property is to include automobiles (minus loan balance), boats (minus loan balance), fumniture, fizrnishings, china,
silver, jewelry, collectibles, and other personal property.

. Itemize Financial Accounts such as checking, savings, credit union, money market, or certificate of deposit accounts in the
Financial Accounts Section. :

. Itemize Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Stock Options and Mutual Funds (excluding retirement accounts) in the
Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section.

. Iternize each parcel of Real Estate in the Real Estate Section.
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STATE OF SOCUTH CAROILINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
) DEFENDANT’S ANSWER
Plaintiff, ) (Increase Child Support)
Vs. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

The above named Defendant files the following Answer to the Complaint (Increase Child
Support): '

1. As to paragraph 1 in the Complaint, Defendant
[ ] admits each and every statement

[_] denies each and every statement
[_] admits paragraph 1 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 1.
2. As to paragraph 2 in the Complaint, Defendant
[ ] admits each and every statement

[] denies each and every statement
["] admits paragraph 2 except for the following:

Defendant denies remaining statements in paragraph 2.
3. As to paragraph 3 in the Complaint, Defendant
[] admits each and every statement

[ ] denies each and every statement
[] admits paragraph 3 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 3.
4. As to paragraph 4 in the Complaint, Defendant

[] admits each and every statement
[] denies each and every statement
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[] admits paragraph 4 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 4.
3. As to paragraph 5 in the Complaint, Defendant
[[] admits each and every statement

[] denies each and every statement
[_] admits paragraph 5 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 5.

***IF THE COMPLAINT CONTAINS MORE THAN 5 PARAGRAPHS, YOU
MAY ADD ADDITIONAL PARAGRAPHS TO THIS FORM OR LIST THEM ON A
SEPARATE PAGE. ***

BY WAY OF COUNTERCLAIM

1. Defendant incorporates into this Answer each defense, statement, and admission that is
set forth above.
2. The child support should be decreased because the Defendant has had a substantial

change of circumstances as follows:

3. In addition to the above statements, Defendant would ask the Court for the following;

Defendant’s Signature

Printed Name of Defendant

Street Address

City, State, Zip

Telephone No.

Page 2 of 2
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) INTHE FAMILY COURT
) _ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
) BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Answer)
VS. }
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

Personally appeared the Defendant who states that (s)he served the Plaintiff with a copy
of the Answer by first class mail in the United States Mail, with proper postage attached, on

addressed as follows:

Sworn to before me this
day of , 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Defendant

My Commission expires:
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