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WILL FILE ONLY PACKET 
 

All of us at Horry County Probate Court extend our condolences for the loss of your loved one and understand that 

this is a difficult time for you and your family. We are committed to making the probate process as simple and easy 

as we can. 
 

The job of the Probate Court is to handle the administration of estates (property owned by the Decedent), and 

distribution of estate assets to heirs and devisees (persons/organizations designated to inherit in the Decedent’s 

Will). THE PROBATE COURT CANNOT PROVIDE LEGAL ADVICE. WE STRONGLY ENCOURAGE 

YOU TO SEEK THE ADVICE OF A LICENSED SOUTH CAROLINA ATTORNEY TO ADVISE YOU 

ON ALL LEGAL ISSUES RELATED TO ADMINISTRATION OF AN ESTATE. 
 

This packet will outline the process and necessary paperwork to file the Decedent’s Last Will and Testament and/or 

Codicil (amendment to a Will) with our Court when no probate or appointment proceedings are desired. Pursuant 

to the South Carolina Probate Code, any person having possession of a Will of someone who has passed away is 

required to file the Will with the Probate Court within thirty (30) days of the Decedent’s death.1 Filing of a Will 

only is strongly discouraged as it does not admit the Will or Codicil to probate in South Carolina, and no property 

can be transferred pursuant to the terms of the Will and/or Codicil unless it is probated. 
 

If you are in possession of a Will and/or Codicil of a Decedent in South Carolina, you may file it with our Court by 

following this procedure: 
  

1. Complete Form 306ES – Filing of a Will for Record 

2. Attach Original Last Will and Testament and any Codicils or Memoranda (list that disposes of tangible personal 

property.  

3. Attach Certified Copy of Decedent’s Death Certificate 

4. Cash (in-person delivery only), check or money order payable to Horry County Probate Court in the total amount of 

$25.00 ($10.00 filing fee and $15.00 publication fee) 
 

Upon receipt of these documents, the file will be assigned to a judicial assistant who will assign a case number. If 

you wish to receive clocked copies of the documents you file with the Court, you must provide a copy of all 

documents along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope.
 

All forms can be obtained on our website at www.horrycountysc.gov/departments/probate-court/forms/. You can also 

call our office at (843) 915-5370 (Option 1) or e-mail our general delivery inbox at 

hcg.ProbateCourt@horrycountysc.gov. You are encouraged to call or e-mail us prior to visiting our office to ensure that 

you have all proper and required documentation. 

 

                                                 
1 See S.C. Code Ann. § 62-2-901(a). 

http://www.horrycountysc.gov/departments/probate-court/forms/
mailto:hcg.ProbateCourt@horrycountysc.gov
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Instructions for Complete Form 300ES 

Application for Informal Probate of Will/Appointment 
 

South Carolina Law requires that any person having possession of the Last Will and Testament or Codicil 

(Amendment to a Will) of someone who has passed away is required to file the document with the Probate Court 

in the county in which the Decedent lived within thirty (30) days after the Decedent’s death.  
 

Note, that filing of a Will or Codicil does not probate the document and is not sufficient to transfer any property 

from the Decedent’s name pursuant to the terms of the Will or Codicil. See the language at the bottom of Form 

306ES. 

  
 

 
 

 

If the Decedent owned property (real or personal) or if a Personal Representative needs to be appointed for any 

reason, you must file Form 300ES, Application/Petition for Informal/Formal Probate and Appointment. Probate 

Court forms can be obtained on our website at (https://www.horrycountysc.gov/departments/probate-

court/forms/). 
 

 
 

 
Part 1 – Decedent Information 
 

 
 

 

For Court Use Only Decedent’s Full Name as 

it appears on the Will 

along with any a/k/a’s 

Information about the person who died. 

Include Decedent’s Full Name as it appears 

on the Will along with any a/k/a’s. 

Be sure to include the Decedent’s address 

prior to entering a nursing home, prison, or 

other residential facility, if applicable. 
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Parts 2 through 4 

 
 

 

 

 

Signature and Filer Information 

 

 

 

 

 

Date (MM/DD/YEAR) on Will or Codicil 

If the Will does not refer to a Memorandum, check “no”. 

If the Will refers to a Memorandum (even if one cannot be located), check “yes” and either 

indicate that one was not found or, if one was located, attach to this Form. 

Last two digits of year 
Month 

Day 

Signature and Contact Information 

for Person Completing the Form 


